Val Mcdermid Books In Order – Complete List

International bestselling Scottish author Val McDermid is best known for her Tony Hill and Carol Jordan crime mystery books. In addition, she has four other series worth checking out.

If you love the works of Ian Rankin, Ruth Rendel, James Lee Burke and Reginald Hill, reading the Val McDermid books in order for each series is a must for any crime mystery enthusiast.

Here are all the books for the various series, standalone novels and other writings listed for each in order of publication and reading order.

New Val McDermid Books

Past Lying (Karen Pirie series #7), 2023

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases

Tony Hill & Carol Jordan Series In Publication Order

  1. The Mermaids Singing (#1), 1995
  2. The Wire in the Blood (#2), 1997
  3. The Last Temptation (#3), 2002
  4. The Torment of Others (#4), 2004
  5. Beneath the Bleeding (#5), 2007
  6. Fever Of The Bone (#6), 2009
  7. The Retribution (#7), 2011
  8. Cross and Burn (#8), 2013
  9. Splinter the Silence (#9), 2015
  10. Insidious Intent (#10), 2017
  11. How the Dead Speak (#11), 2019

Tony Hill & Carol Jordan Short Stories

Allie Burns Books in Publication Order

  1. 1979 (#1), 2021
  2. 1989 (#2), 2022

Lindsay Gordon Books In Publication Order

  1. Report for Murder (#1), 1987
  2. Common Murder ( #2), 1989
  3. Final Edition (#3), 1991 (aka Open And Shut / Deadline for Murder)
  4. Union Jack (#4), 1993
  5. Booked for Murder (#5), 1996
  6. Hostage to Murder (#6), 2003

Kate Brannigan Series In Publication Order

  1. Dead Beat (#1), 1992
  2. Kick Back (#2), 1993
  3. Crack Down (#3), 1994
  4. Clean Break (#4), 1995
  5. Blue Genes (#5), 1996
  6. Star Struck (#6), 1998

Inspector Karen Pirie Books In Publication Order

  1. The Distant Echo (#1), 2003
  2. A Darker Domain (#2), 2008
  3. The Skeleton Road (#3), 2014
  4. Out of Bounds (#4), 2016
  5. Broken Ground (#5), 2018
  6. Still Life (#6), 2020
  7. Past Lying (#7), 2023

Standalone Novels in Publication Order

Short Stories in Publication Order

Murderous Christmas Stories Anthology in Publication Order

Anthologies and Short Story Collections in Publication Order

Contributions to Other Series

Graphic Novels and Picture Books in Publication Order

Val McDermid Plays and Adaptations

  • Like a Happy Ending, 1981 (play adaptation of the author’s first novel attempt)
  • Clean Break, 1998 (radio adaptation of the novel)
  • The Right Chemistry, 1999 (adaptation of the second half of Clean Break novel)

Non-Fiction Books in Publication Order

Val McDermid Biography – About the Author

Val McDermid

Val McDermid was born in Fife, Scotland in 1955, in a working-class family. She spent most of her childhood in Fife, until, at the age of 17, she moved to Oxford where she was accepted at St Hilda’s College, which was quite the culture shock for both sides, due to the common language barrier. She was, in fact, the first student to be admitted there from a Scottish state school.

She always wanted to write and after college, she pursued her goal first by training for two years in Devon, after which working for 14 years as a journalist in Glasgow and Manchester. While working in Devon she wrote her debut novel which was soon turned into a playscript for the BBC radio.

In 1987 her first official book, Report For Murder (which would be the first book in the Lindsay Gordon series) was published, and this was her launching pad to a successful career of crime mystery writer, a career she is still faithful to until today. With over 30 books under her belt ranging from 4 different crime mystery series to standalone books to short story collections, children stories, and even non-fiction books, the author is one of the most popular British contemporary mystery authors today.

Her Tony Hill series has been adapted to a TV show called Wire In The Blood with Robson Green playing the main character.

In her books, Tony is a clinical psychologist, Lindsay Gordon is a journalist, Kate Brannigan is a female private investigator, Karen Pirie is a detective chief inspector, while Allie Burns is an investigative reporter. Val McDermid classifies her books in the Tartan Noir crime fiction from Scotland. Readers who are sensitive to violence might want to check up on the Carol Jordan books in particular, as there is an excessive graphic depiction of violence in them.

In addition to writing novels, the author also contributes columns to various British newspapers. In 2009 she was added to the Hall of Fame of the ITV3 Crime Thriller authors. She is co-founder of the Harrogate Crime Writing Festival and Theakston’s Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award, which is a part of the Harrogate International Festivals. IN 2011 McDermid was awarded an honorary doctorate by the University of Sunderland.

Her books have been translated into over 30 languages and have sold more than 11 million copies all over the world.

As an interesting fact, in 2022 Val McDermid told the Edinburgh Book Festival that the Agatha Christie estate had previously trademarked the term “Queen of Crime,” and they had threatened to sue her over this name.

Val McDermid Awards and Nominations

  • Crack Down – Dagger Awards Best Book nominee in 1994
  • The Mermaids Singing – Dagger Awards Best Novel winner in 1995
  • A Place of Execution:
    • Dagger Awards Best Book nominee in 1999
    • Barry Awards Best British Crime Novel winner in 2000
    • Anthony Awards Best Novel winner in 2001
    • Dilys Awards Best Book winner in 2001
    • Edgar Awards Best Novel nominee in 2001
    • Macavity Awards Best Novel winner in 2001
  • The Distant Echo – Barry Awards Best British Crime Novel winner in 2004
  • The Torment of Others – Dagger Awards Best Novel nominee in 2004
  • The Grave Tattoo – BCA Crime Thriller of the Year Best Novel nominee in 2008
  • Fever of the Bone – Barry Awards Best Paperback Novel winner in 2011
  • Splinter the Silence – McIlvanney Prize Best Novel nominee in 2016
  • Out of Bounds – McIlvanney Prize Best Novel nominee in 2017
Like these books

One Comment

  1. Will there be another book about Tony Hill and Carol Jordan to let us know what happens to Tony and Carol? i love those books.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *