Mark Billingham Books In Order

Last Updated on August 7, 2020  Reading the Mark Billingham books in order means catching up to the British author’s Tom Thorne series. There are currently 15 main books and a short novella in the series, which will be listed in order of publication below.

New Mark Billingham Books

Their Little Secret
Their Little Secret (Tom Thorne #1) 2020

Tom Thorne Series In Order of Reading

    1. Cry Baby (Tom Thorne #17), 2020 (prequel to the series)
    2. Sleepyhead (Tom Thorne #2), published 2001
    3. Scaredy Cat (Tom Thorne #3), 2002
    4. Lazybones (Tom Thorne #4), 2003
    5. The Burning Girl (Tom Thorne #5), 2004
    6. Lifeless (Tom Thorne #6), 2005
    7. Buried (Tom Thorne #7), 2006
    8. Death Message (Tom Thorne #8), 2007
    9. Bloodline (Tom Thorne #9), 2009
    10. From the Dead (Tom Thorne #10), 2010
    11. Thorne at Christmas (Tom Thorne #10.5), 2013
    12. Good as Dead also called The Demands (Tom Thorne #12), 2012
    13. The Dying Hours (Tom Thorne #12), 2013
    14. The Bones Beneath (Tom Thorne #13), 2014
    15. Time of Death (Tom Thorne #14), 2015
    16. Love Like Blood (Tom Thorne #15), 2017
    17. The Killing Habit (Tom Thorne #16), 2018
    18. Their Little Secret (Tom Thorne #17), 2019

Triskelion Books In Order

  1. Triskellion (Triskellion #1), 2008
  2. The Burning (Triskellion #2), 2009
  3. The Gathering (Triskellion #3), 2010

Standalone Novels

  • Knight School, 1998
  • In the Dark, 2008
  • Rush of Blood, 2012
  • Die of Shame, 2016
  • Cut-off, 2018 (short novella)

About Mark Billingham

Born in 1961 in Solihull, Warwickshire, Mark Billingham grew up in Birmingham. As a child, he went to the King Edward VI camp high school, a boy’s grammar school.

At the university, he graduated in drama, after which he co-founded a theater called Bread and Circuses.

In the 1980s he moved to London where he currently lives with his family. In 1987 he decided to follow a career in comedy before becoming a full-time writer. Folks in the UK might know the author as an actor, a stand-up comedian, as well as a TV writer.

In addition to his Tom Thorne series, Mark Billingham has also written other books, including several standalone thrillers, two out of which are being adapted for television by the BBC.

Mark Billingham

He has also written another series, this time a thriller series for young adults called Triskellion trilogy, under the pseudonym Will Peterson (co-written with Peter Cocks).

I first got introduced to the works of Mark Billingham when I received the very first book in the Tom Throne series, Sleepyhead, as a birthday gift from my mom.

She knows how much I love reading, and knew that I would enjoy reading a new crime mystery series, especially when starting with the first book. As you know by now, I’m a stickler for reading the books in order rather than randomly as I get my hands on them.

His first book in the Tom Thorne series left a strong impact on me, and I think this is where I really developed a strong love for British crime novels.

So should you read the Mark Billingham books in order for his Tom Thorne series? Well, I do believe so.

Each book in the series revolves around a case that is solved by the end of the book. However, if you get to like the rather flawed (damaged as some call him) character of Tom Thorne, you will want to follow his progress and learn more about him, without skipping a book here and there.

Not a big deal if you do, but for the sake of continuity, you might want to read the Mark Billingham books in chronological order.


  1. I got introduced to Mark Billingham by a very special person to me Bridie.My first read was Buried which blew me away.
    Brilliant storyline and characters who from the first chapter grabbed my attention and didn’t let go til the last word.
    I’ve now read 8 books each being totally enthralling,
    I’ve purchased 20 books of is collection with only the Christmas short story and cut off which both are proving too be extremely difficult to acquire to complete my collection.
    He his my favourite author he his beyond compare.

  2. I’ve now read 12 of Marks Books in order. Im totally obsessed with Tom Thorne and dont know how I can live without him when I’ve finished reading the last book!! He is part of my life!

    1. Hi Donna,i too am obsessed with him and he is part of my life too.
      Ive purchased special crates from IKEA which i use as book cases which are home to my collection.
      Do you have a favourite book you’ve read?

  3. Just finished Bloodline last night,discovered this site while trying to put books in their order,will print,keep and continue to try and read MArk’s books in order ,awesome novels.

  4. Not read last 3 books but from reading sleepy head, he has been 1 of my favourite authors, keeps you asking questions all the time and keeps you in suspense until end of books

  5. Mark Billingham is one of my favorite authors. Love all his books. Looking forward to many more.

  6. I also love enjoy reading books, and reading them in order. When I was recently given a promotional code for a free e-book, I chose ‘Sleepyhead’, because it’s the first in the series. Now I have learnt from this website that there are actually 11 others! Let’s hope that the first will motivate me to read the others. Lol

  7. My husband devours series books and he too is a stickler for reading them in order. He likes thrillers and I bet that he would enjoy this one!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *