Michael Connelly Books in Reading Order


The Michael Connelly books in order include a whole range of crime mystery and thriller series. Yes, the author’s most popular series is, of course, Harry Bosch, which includes so far 22 main books.

Here are Michael Connelly’s books in order for his popular Harry Bosch, Mickey Haller, Jack McEvoy, Renee Ballard, and standalone novels.

Harry Bosch Series in Order

  1. The Black Echo (Harry Bosch #1), 1992
  2. The Black Ice (Harry Bosch #2), 1993
  3. The Concrete Blonde (Harry Bosch #3), 1994
  4. The Last Coyote(Harry Bosch #4), 1995
  5. Trunk Music (Harry Bosch #5), 1997
  6. Angels Flight (Harry Bosch #6), 1999
  7. A Darkness More Than Night (Harry Bosch #7, Terry McCaleb #2), 2001
  8. City Of Bones (Harry Bosch #8), 2002
  9. Lost Light (Harry Bosch #9), 2003
  10. The Narrows (Harry Bosch #10), 2004
  11. The Closers (Harry Bosch #11), 2005
  12. Echo Park (Harry Bosch #12), 2006
  13. The Overlook (Harry Bosch #13), 2007
  14. The Brass Verdict (Harry Bosch #14, Mickey Haller #2), 2008
  15. Nine Dragons (Harry Bosch #15, Mickey Haller #3), 2009
  16. The Reversal (Harry Bosch #16, Mickey Haller #4), 2010
  17. The Fifth Witness (Mickey Haller #5 – Harry Bosch appeared only briefly, 2011)
  18. The Drop (Harry Bosch #17), 2011
  19. The Black Box (Harry Bosch #18), 2012
  20. The Gods of Guilt (Mickey Haller #6 – Harry Bosch appeared only briefly), 2013
  21. The Burning Room (Harry Bosch #19), 2014
  22. The Crossing (Harry Bosch #20, Mickey Haller #7), 2015
  23. The Wrong Side of Goodbye (Harry Bosch #21), 2016
  24. Two Kinds of Truth (Harry Bosch #22), 2017

Harry Bosch Series Short Stories

  • Blue on Black, 2010
  • Suicide Run, 2011 (includes 3 short stories: Cielo Azul, Suicide Run, One Dollar Jackpot)
  • Angle Of Investigation, 2011 (includes 3 short stories: Father’s Day, Christmas Even, Angle of Investigation)
  • Blood Washes Off, 2011
  • A Fine Mist of Blood, 2012
  • Switchblade, 2014 (Harry Bosch #18.5)
  • The Crooked Man, 2014 (Harry Bosch short story, published in  In The Company of Sherlock Holmes)

Mickey Haller Books In Order

Most of the books in the series are also listed in the Harry Bosch section, since they are part of both series, even if sometimes Harry Bosch appears only briefly.

  1. The Lincoln Lawyer (Mickey Haller #1), 2004
  2. The Brass Verdict (Mickey Haller #2, Harry Bosch #14), 2008
  3. Nine Dragons (Mickey Haller #3, Harry Bosch #15), 2009
  4. The Reversal (Mickey Haller #4, Harry Bosch #16), 2010
  5. The Fifth Witness (Mickey Haller #5, Harry Bosch #17), 2011
  6. The Gods Of Guilt (Mickey Haller #6, Harry Bosch #20), 2013
  7. The Crossing (Mickey Haller #7, Harry Bosch #20), 2015

Mickey Haller Series Short Stories

  • The Perfect Triangle, 2010

Terry McCaleb Books in Order

While the Terry McCaleb series is a separate one from Michael Connelly, most people who read the Harry Bosch series are also interested in it, especially since one of the books is also part of Harry Bosch. Here is the list of books for your convenience as well.

  1. Blood Work (Terry McCaleb #1), 1998
  2. A Darkness More Than Night (Terry McCaleb #2,  Harry Bosch #7), 2000

Jack McEvoy Books In Order

  1. The Poet (Jack McEvoy #1), 1996
  2. The Scarecrow (Jack McEvoy #2), 2009

Renée Ballard Books In Order

  1. The Late Show (Renée Ballard #1), 2017

Other Books by Michael Connelly

 Michael Connelly was born in 1956 in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. When he was 12 years old, his family moved to  Fort Lauderdale, Florida. There he enrolled at the St. Thomas Aquinas High School.

The author’s introduction to the world of crime happened in an entirely random way. One evening he was going home from his job as a dishwasher at a hotel. He suddenly noticed someone throw something into the bushes. Curious as he was, he checks out those bushes and found a gun wrapped in a shirt.

He got even more curious, so he decided to follow that person, a trek that took him to a nearby bar. He then went home to tell his dad about the guy and guy in the bar. Together, they went to the police, and Michael Connelly led them to the hidden gun. By then, the suspect was gone from the bar.

However, he was thoroughly fascinated with the way the police handled that case and he couldn’t get that event out of his mind.

Michael Connelly continued his studies and enrolled at the University of Florida in Gainesville with a major in building construction, as he wanted to follow his father’s job. His grades were, however, not up to par. After watching the movie The Long Goodbye, he decided that he wanted to become a book author. The movie was based on Raymond Chandler’s books, so he began reading everything the author has written.

Michael Connelly

Thus, the author Michael Connelly switched his major from construction to journalism. His minor was in creative writing, which helped him develop as a book writer. After his graduation from the university in 1980, he became a crime beat writer at the  Daytona Beach News Journal. Next year, he moved to work for the Fort Lauderdale News and Sun-Sentinel again as a crime beat.

In 1985 he was one of the reporters to interview the survivors of the Delta Flight 191 plane crash. The story he wrote thereafter made him a candidate for the Pulitzer Prize. In 1987 he moved to Los Angeles, California with his family, where he began working for the Los Angeles Times as a crime reporter.

He was working for the newspaper for three years when he wrote The Black Echo, his debut novel. The book was published in 1992 by Little, Brown. That books earned him the Mystery Writers of America’s Edgar Award for Best First Novel. The book is also the first in the Harry (Hieronymous) Bosch series.

Michael Connelly continued to work for the Los Angeles Times until he completed another three books,  The Black IceThe Concrete Blonde, and The Last Coyote, all part of the Harry Bosch series before he resigned and went on to become a full-time author.

He continued his series until 1996 when he wrote The Poet. It was to become the first book in his Jack McEvoy series. The next year he wrote The Trunk Music, which went back to the popular Harry Bosch series.

After that, the author once again diverged from Harry Bosch when he wrote  Blood Work, the first book in his Terry McCaleb FBI Agent series. This was in 1998. Four years later, in 1992 Clint Eastwood starred in the movie made from Blood Work, where he played Terry McCaleb and also directed the movie.

For his numerous books, Michael Connelly received several awards. Just to list a few, he received the Edgar Award, the Anthony Award, the Macavity Award, the Shamus Award, the Barry Award, as well as several international awards from countries like Italy, France, and Japan.

Many of his books are written surrounding actual, real-life events. The 9/11 attack was just one such event included in Michael Connelly’s work. Most characters in the Michael Connelly series appear in the same universe and often crossover from series to series.

After the Harry Bosch series, I think that Michael Connelly’s second most popular series is Mickey Haller. The series currently includes five books, with the latest one published in 2013 with the title The Gods of Guilt.

The author’s newest series is Renee Ballard, with a first book titled The Late Show.

Besides his several mystery and thriller series, the author also wrote a nonfiction book called Crime Beat, which was published in 2006.

An interesting trivia note, one of Michael Connelly’s biggest fans is the ex-US president Bill Clinton, who was seen reading The Concrete Blonde. The two men met at an airport later on.

Share on Facebook9Share on Google+0Pin on Pinterest12Tweet about this on TwitterShare on StumbleUpon327

Leave A Comment...