Jeffery Deaver Books In Order

Jeffery Deaver is one of the most popular contemporary thriller authors who brought us the well-known Lincoln Rhyme series. Reading the Jeffery Deaver books in order involves picking up this series and a few other shorter series as well plus several standalone novels.

Here are the Jeffery Deaver books in order for his popular Lincoln Rhyme series, the Kathryn Dance series, the John Pellam series, his Rune trilogy, and other books he has written, based on the publication order. The series order is listed in brackets for each book.

New Jeffery Deaver Books

The Cutting Edge

The Cutting Edge (Lincoln Rhyme #14), 2018

The Cutting Edge

The Victims’ Club (standalone novella), 2018











Lincoln Rhyme Series

  1. The Bone Collector (Lincoln Rhyme #1), 1997
  2. The Coffin Dancer (Lincoln Rhyme #2), 1998
  3. The Empty Chair (Lincoln Rhyme #3), 2000
  4. The Stone Monkey (Lincoln Rhyme #4), 2002
  5. The Vanished Man (Lincoln Rhyme #5), 2003
  6. The Twelfth Card (Lincoln Rhyme #6), 2005
  7. The Cold Moon (Lincoln Rhyme #7), 2006 (Kathryn Dance appears briefly)
  8. The Broken Window (Lincoln Rhyme #8), 2008
  9. The Burning Wire (Lincoln Rhyme #9), 2010
  10. A Textbook Case (Lincoln Rhyme #9.5), 2013
  11. The Kill Room (Lincoln Rhyme #10), 2013
  12. The Skin Collector (Lincoln Rhyme #11), 2014
  13. The Deliveryman (Lincoln Rhyme #11.5), 2016
  14. The Steel Kiss (Lincoln Rhyme #12), 2016
  15. The Burial Hour (Lincoln Rhyme #13), 2017
  16. The Cutting Edge (Lincoln Rhyme #14), 2018

Kathryn Dance Series

  1. The Sleeping Doll (Kathryn Dance #1), 2007 (Lincoln Rhyme appears briefly)
  2. Roadside Crosses (Kathryin Dance #2), 2009
  3. XO (Kathryin Dance #3), 2012 (Lincoln Rhyme appears briefly)
  4. Solitude Creek (Kathryn Dance #4), 2015

John Pellam Series

  1. Shallow Graves (John Pellam #1), 1992
  2. Bloody River Blues (John Pellam #2), 1993
  3. Hell’s Kitchen (John Pellam #3), 2001

Rune Trilogy

  1. Manhattan Is My Beat (Rune #1), 1988
  2. Death of a Blue Movie Star (Rune #2), 1990
  3. Hard News (Rune #3), 1991

Other Jeffery Deaver Books

Jeffery Deaver author

Jeffery Deaver (website) was born in 1950 in  Glen Ellyn, outside Chicago, Illinois. He attended the University of Missouri from where he obtained a bachelor degree in journalism, after which he worked as a magazine writer for a bit, before returning to study law at the Fordham University in New York City.

After getting his law degree, he worked as a corporate lawyer on Wall Street.

In his spare time, however, he kept on writing and trying to get his books published. After several rejections (or self-terminations due to the author realizing that what he wrote were not up to par), his next work, Hoodoo, got accepted by a smaller publisher. His next book, Always A Thief got accepted eventually as well.

Over time, however, Jeffery Deaver changed the way he wrote books. He even admits these days that he’s not overly fond of his earlier creations and he doesn’t mind if those books are continuously out of print (in fact I haven’t been able to find a copy of either of those early novels, no matter how much I searched. Still not giving up…)

Reading the Jeffery Deaver books in order is a real treat for every FBI style thrillers reader. The author has written close to 30 novels which have been translated into 25 languages and were sold in over 150 countries. My first encounter with his books was with his debut novel, The Bone Collector. Needless to say, I was hooked.

It was published in 1997, and two years later the overnight hit movie with the same title featuring two of my favorite actors, Denzel Washington and Angelina Jolie played in theaters. I have to say, the actors did a good job transplanting what the book had to offer to the big screen.

The Bone CollectorHis first serious debut novel, The Bone Collector, was not intended to become part of a series. But I’m glad it did because Lincoln Rhyme is one of the most interesting characters I met in books.

A quadriplegic from the very first book, he is up against the most ruthless of criminals, and only his sharp wits and his above-average mind and intellect helps him solve crimes after crimes from a physical impairment position where most people would give up on the world and will to live by now.

In the new Jeffery Deaver book, The Cutting Edge, which is book #14 in the series, Lincoln Rhyme and his bride and partner, Amelia Sachs, return from their honeymoon in Italy just in time to realize that their home city, New York, is under terror by a serial killer. Newspapers and media called him Fiancé Killer and as usual, the name stuck.

The killer’s MO is following newly-engaged couples to jewelry stores and killing them before they get the chance to actually buy the wedding ring. When the killer escapes once again, the police asks Lincoln to kindly lend a hand and his unbeatable forensic expertise in catching the monster roaming the New York City streets.

But the closer Lincoln and Amelia get to the killer, the nearer he gets to them. Now, the couple has to stop them before their lives are stopped…for good.

Spread the love

2 Responses to “Jeffery Deaver Books In Order”

Read below or add a comment...

  1. Mystery Sequels says:

    Yes, it was The Broken Window, Lincoln Rhyme #8.

  2. Sue King says:

    Can you tell me the title of the book that is about the use of data (loyalty cards) in frame people for murders? Thamnk you.

Leave A Comment...