Craig Johnson Books in Order

Craig Johnson  (website) is the author of the well-known Western crime mystery series, Walt Longmire, a series that has also seen tremendous popularity on TV.

Craig Johnson Walk LongmireThe author was born in 1961 and grew up in Huntington, W.Va, with a love for mystery books, as both his parents like to read this particular genre.

He graduated from Marshall University, in West Virginia, after which he got his M.A. from Temple University.

Before becoming a novelist, Craig Johnson also worked as a police officer in New York City (in 1988) as a special officer attached to the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Later when he moved to Wyoming, he worked several odd jobs, such as a teacher, cowboy, as well as longshoreman.

He currently lives in Ucross, Wyoming, on a ranch that he personally built. The ranch is near the Crow and Cheyenne reservations. Together with his wife, Judy, Craig owns a the Bucking Buffalo Supply Company, a clothing store in Sheridan catering to the rich out there

His series includes 12 novels so far, two short stories, and a series of short stories. The books were positively received by critics, and some novels became Award finalists. Another Man’s Moccasins, the fourth book in the Longmire series, received the Western Writers of America Spur Award for best novel of the year in 2008, and it also received the Mountains and Plains award for fiction book of the year.

Some additional awards the author has received over the years: fiction book of the year, Wyoming Historical Society, for Death Without Company (the second book in the Longmire series), Wyoming Council for the Arts Award.

The author’s latest Longmire book is The Western Star, published September 2017.

Here are the Longmire books in order by Craig Johnson.

Walt Longmire Series in Order

1. The Cold Dish (Walt Longmire #1), 2004

2. Death Without Company (Walt Longmire #2), 2006

3. Kindness Goes Unpunished (Walt Longmire #3), 2007

4. Another Man’s Moccasins (Walt Longmire #4), 2008

5. The Dark Horse (Walt Longmire #5), 2009

6. Junkyard Dogs (Walt Longmire #6), 2010

7. Hell is Empty (Walt Longmire #7), 2011

8. Divorce Horse (Walt Longmire #7.5), 2012

9. As the Crow Flies (Walt Longmire #8), 2012

10. Christmas in Absaroka County (Walt Longmire #8.1), 2012

11. Messenger (Walt Longmire #8.2), 2013

12. A Serpent’s Tooth (Walt Longmire #9), 2013

13. Spirit of Steamboat (Walt Longmire #9.5), 2013

14. Any Other Name (Walt Longmire #10), 2014

15. Wait for Signs (Twelve Longmire stories), 2014

16. Dry Bones (Walt Longmire #11), 2015

17. The Highwayman (Walt Longmire #11.5), 2016

18. An Obvious Fact (Walt Longmire #12), 2017

19. The Western Star (Walt Longmire #13), 2017


  1. There is little parallel between the books and the Netflix series – books are fantastic so wish the series were similar. But Netflix series are very good as well – hard for me to not watch 3 or 4 in a row and before I know it is 3am (on a weekend night). Only Vic, Cady, Henry, and Ruby are represented in both.

    1. If you had read the books you would have found the Netflix series lacking in every way. Casting was awful as well as adaption

  2. I am hooked on the Walt Longmire series on Netflix. I now want to read anything Craig Johnson wrote. I hope all of his books are as compelling as the Walt Longmire series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *