Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year 2014 Longlist

Theakstons Crime Novel of the Year 2014 Here is an interesting piece of news from the European side of mystery things. We were just given the longlist for the tenth Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award, for 2014.

What is this award anyway, you might ask. Well, I think it is best explained on the Old Peculier Crime Festival’s website, but in short, it is a festival sponsored by non other than the Old Peculier beer, quite famous all around the world.

And let’s face it, what can be better than drinking the awesome beer while reading a good crime novel? Not much really.

So without further ado, here are the authors chosen from books published between 1 May 2013 to 30 April 2014. There are 18 titles in all, with a short list of 6 titles to be announced on June 30. Some of my favorite authors are here as well, and I’m really rooting for them!

The final winner will be announced on 17 July on the opening night of the 12th annual Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival held in Harrogate. The prize for the winner will include 3,000 GBP and a handcrafted and engraved beer barrel, which is, of course, given by the sponsor, Theakstons Old Peculier.

* Lee Child with A Wanted Man, the 17th Jack Reacher novel. He won the 2011 award with 61 Hours, his 14th Jack Reacher book – Transworld Publisher

* Mark Billingham with The Dying Hours, the 11th book in the Tom Thorne series – Little, Brown Book Group

* Ian Rankin with Standing in Another Man’s Grave, the 18th Inspector Rebus mystery – Orion Press

* Denise Mina with The Red Road, the 4th book in the Alex Morrow series. She won the 2011 award with her The End of the Wasp Season, her second book in the Alex Morrow series

* Malcolm Mackay with The Necessary Death of Lewis Winter, the first book in the Glasgow Trilogy

* Belinda Bauer with Rubbernecker, a standalone novel – Transworld Publishers

* Elly Griffiths with Dying Fall, the 5th book in the Ruth Galloway mystery series – Quercus

* Lauren Beukes with The Shining Girls, a standalone novel – HarperCollins

* Stuart Neville with Ratlines, a standalone novel – Random House Publishing

* Stav Sherez with Eleven Days, the second book in the Carrigan and Miller series – Faber & Faber

* Sharon Bolton with Like This, For Ever, the third Lacy Flint novel – Transworld Publishers

* Richard Crompton with The Honey Guide, the first in the new Mollel series, set in Kenya – Orion

* Samantha Hayes with Until You’re Mine, a standalone novel – Random House Publishing

* Helen Fitzgerald with The Cry, a standalone novel – Faber & Faber

* Peter Robinson with Children of the Revolution, the 21st book in the Inspector Banks mystery series – Hodder & Stoughton

* Peter May with The Chessmen, the third in the Lewis trilogy – Quercus

* Adrian McKinty with I Hear The Sirens In The Street, the second book in the  Sean Duffy series – Profile Books

* Cathi Unsworth with Weirdo, a standalone novel – Profile Books


Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *