Dan Brown Books In Order

Reading the Dan Brown books in order is a treat to everyone who loves religious conspiracy adventure thrillers, and let’s face it, the Da Vinci Code is pretty much the first book that comes to anyone’s mind when this genre comes up in any conversation ever, including getting involved in scholarly intellectual debates.

Here are the Dan Brown books in order for his popular Robert Langdon series and his other standalone novels.

Robert Langdon Series In Order

  1. Angels And Demons (Robert Langdon #1), 2000
  2. The Da Vinci Code (Robert Langdon #2), 2003
  3. The Lost Symbol (Robert Langdon #3), 2009
  4. Inferno (Robert Langdon #4), 2013
  5. Origin (Robert Langdon #5), 2017

Other Dan Brown Books

About Dan Brown

Dan Brown was born in 1964 in Exeter, a New England town in New Hampshire. As a child, he spent a lot of time at the Phillips Exeter Academy’s campus where he practically grew up, spending time with his dad, a mathematics professor and textbook writer who worked there, and his mom, a musician, and a singer.

After he graduated from high school, he continued his studies at Amherst College from where he graduated in 1986.

Before dedicating his time to writing thriller novels, the author Dan Brown had some interesting career in music where he created effects with a synthesizer and composed and created a children’s cassette with the title SynthAnimals.

Dan Brown author

Later on, Dan Brown created his own music record company called Dalliance and in 1990 published a CD called Perspective, which had some marginal sales. However that was not enough to feed him, so in 1991 he moved to Hollywood where he strived to become a singer, composer, and pianist while teaching classes at Beverly Hills Preparatory School.

Eventually, he realized that his dream of becoming a musician wouldn’t bear fruit, so in 1993, Dan Brown went back to New Hampshire, where he became an English teacher at the Phillips Exeter Academy.

The inspiration for his first novel came from finding on the beach and reading Sidney Sheldon’s The Doomsday Conspiracy while being on holiday in Tahiti in 1994. Then, while teaching English at Exeter, he witnessed two Secret Service agents questioning a student about an incident from the night before, where they suspected he might be a threat to national security.

While nothing happened with that student (it was just an innocent email correspondence between two friends), the fact that a simple email could be intercepted by the Secret Service just because it included a few key trigger phrases, intrigued him enough to start researching the heck out of intelligence gathering by government agencies, including the NSA. And the rest is history in the form of Digital Fortress. The book was published two years later, in 1998.

In the meantime, author Dan Brown worked with his wife Blythe on publishing two humorous novels, 187 Men to Avoid: A Survival Guide for the Romantically Frustrated Woman and The Bald Book, while at the same time working at additional novels, Angels and Demons and Digital Fortress.

It took Dan Brown to write The Da Vinci Code for the book to truly bring the author to spotlight, fame and major international publicity. I honestly don’t think there is a more controversial, more discussed novel than The Da Vinci Code. Everyone has a different opinion on it, and one can spend a whole evening at a party just defending their opinions against those of others.

While, initially, the earlier Dan Brown novels have hardly solved a few thousand copies, the major success of Da Vinci Code helped bring them that much-needed success as well. They might not be Da Vinci Code, but they’re still darn good.

The Da Vinci Code focuses on professor Robert Langdon, a Harvard symbology expert, who is called to investigate a murder mystery in France, and he teams up with Sophie Neveu to work on decoding the secret symbols that were hidden in the various Leonardo Da Vinci pieces, including his most famous Madonna painting.

Many Christian groups denounced this book to be anti-Christian, and the author was attacked by many Christians claiming that he was against the Catholic Church. Also, his work was claimed to be factually entire inaccurate with people finding lots of facts that didn’t match with those from history books.

His first Illuminati thriller, Angels and Demons, was born in the author’s mind while touring a Vatican City tunnel where the guide was talking about its history and how many historians believe that the Illuminati are still alive and active, and quite powerful behind the official forces in the government. As he mentioned in an interview, he knew he just had to write an Illuminati thriller.

The Dan Brown books have so far sold over 200 million times in numerous countries all over the world. His books The Da Vinci Code and Angels and Demons were made into two blockbuster movies featuring Tom Hanks, with the second one called Inferno airing in the second part of 2016.

Origin is Dan Brown’s latest novel, where Robert Langdon is asked by one of his earlier students to take part in an exclusive event that would reveal something astonishing, which could potentially change the course of the entire history. Here we have, once again, one of Dan Brown’s outrageous and wildly entertaining conspiracy theories, which is part of his entire Robert Langdon series.

When it comes to reading the Dan Brown books in order, I highly recommend it, if just to follow Robert Langdon’s adventures from story to story while he is helping this or that damsel in distress. The standalone novels can be read in any order you choose because they don’t have any connection to the rest of the stories at all.

Through his major fame, and as he is one of the highest paid writers in the world, the author Dan Brown has been constantly attacked by other less-known writers who claimed that he has stolen their book ideas. So far, the other writers would always lose their case.

These days, the author is once again under the spotlight with yet another lawsuit for plagiarism over Da Vinci Code from the New England author Jack Dunn, who lost his case in 2007 over his allegations that Dan Brown stole his ideas, scenes and even plot lines from The Vatican Boys. This time, Dunn takes the war to England to the UK High Court. If he lost his case in the US, he is hoping that the UK Courts would give him the justice he deserves (and maybe some money too…after all Dan Brown can easily afford it).


  1. I am a huge fan of your books, are you planning to continue writing for Robert Langdon Series?

  2. If you have come to enjoy and appreciate Mr. Brown’s work, I strongly encourage you to attend his Master Class lectures. It is like spending two hours with him, one on one, and gaining full insight into how he creates his stories.

    I am a struggling author trying to make it. Mr. Brown shared all of his experiences, methods, process, and philosophy in this Master Class. HOW he presented this invaluable information was as beneficial as WHAT he presented.

    He has personally walked in the shoes of a struggling author and gladly, kindly shares his wisdom. Best of all, he humbly states what it takes to succeed sans any hype, hyperbole, advertisements, or promotions.

  3. why Dan Brown do not write a novel about the most bloodiest group of history of Islam ‘ASSASSINS’

  4. My considered opinion? Dan Brown ROCKS!!
    I am widely read … both fiction and non-fiction … former college lecturer (72 years old and no dementia!!)Sorry

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *