MWA Announces the 2018 Grand Masters

Edgar Allan Poe AwardsMystery Writers of America (MWA) has released the Grandmaster Award list for 2018. The Grandmaster Award is given to authors recognized for their invaluable contribution to the crime, mystery genre, who have a constant high-quality writing.

The three Grandmasters chosen for 2018 are Jane Langton, William Link, and Peter Lovesey. They will receive their awards on April 26, 2018, at the  72nd Annual Edgar Awards Banquet held at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in New York City.

Jane Langton is a popular mystery writer and illustrator, with a career of over 40 years. Several of her books have been nominated for various awards. Her book The Diamond in the Window, the first in the Hall Family Chronicles series, has been nominated for the Edgar for Best Juvenile. The fourth book in the same series,  The Fledgling, is a Newbery Honor Book. Emily Dickinson Is Dead, the fifth in the Homer Kelly series has been nominated for an Edgar award, and the book also received a Nero Wolfe award.

William Link is an American TV and movie writer, who, in collaboration with his friend, Richard Levinson, created several well-known TV shows, including  Columbo, Ellery Queen, Mannix, And Murder She Wrote. Some of the awards William Link received over the years are The Ellery Queen, The Marlowe, The Poirot, the George Foster Peabody, The Marlowe, the George Foster Peabody, and The Paddy Chayefsky Laurel award. The two friends also received the Edgar Award from the MWA for their work on Ellery Queen and Columbo. William Link is one of the few TV writers who was named a president of the Mystery Writers of America. He became president in 2002.

Peter Lovesey is a British crime-mystery author best known for his Sergeant Daniel Cribb series and his Peter Diamond series. The author is also known by the pen name Peter Lear. Daniel Cribb is a Victorian-era police detective based in London, and Daniel Cribb a contemporary police detective in Bath. The author received several awards during his career, including the Gold and Silver Daggers from the British British Crime Writers’ Association, the French Grand Prix de Littérature Policière, and the Cartier Diamond Dagger for Lifetime Achievement.

Previous recipients of the Grand Masters Awards are Lawrence Block, James Lee Burke, Agatha Christie, Mary Higgins Clark, Robert Crais, Max Allan Collins, Lois Duncan, James Ellroy, Ken Follett,  Dick Francis, Sue Grafton, Graham Greene, Martha Grimes, Ellen Hart, Carolyn Hart, Alfred Hitchcock, P.D. James, Stephen King, Margaret Maron, Daphne du Maurier, Walter Mosley, Marcia Muller, Sara Paretsky, Bill Pronzini, and Ellery Queen.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *