Easter Mystery Books

Last Updated on December 16, 2022

While reading your crime novels over the years I’m sure you’ve come across various Easter mystery books and you might have even noticed that most of these holiday-themed mysteries are in fact cozies. But then again cozies dominate pretty much every major public holiday across the world, with books ranging from Christmas mysteries, to Valentine’s Day mysteries, books for Easter, for Halloween and of course turkey day as well (Thanksgiving Day).

Easter mystery novels

Some of the reasons why cozy mysteries abound is because these holidays are times when the whole family gathers together and it is also a chance for crimes to be solved in a familiar setting. Another reason, however, is related to the family setting – violent crimes just don’t belong here. They are times for lighter reading, for fun and a positive atmosphere. They’re definitely not times to read about gruesome crimes made by twisted serial killers.

So here are some popular Easter themed mysteries (along with Passover and Lent-related books) that you might enjoy reading over the holidays. They’re mostly part of a series – in fact, many cozies include books with stories that happen all at various holidays in the year. So you might find one novel being set on Easter time and the next book in the series taking place at Halloween.

If you’ve read a good Easter mystery novel that you really enjoyed, can recommend and it’s not listed here, let me know so I can add it to the list. These books are listed in order of publication from latest going back to the oldest book published, along with indicating how many books the given mystery series includes.

Big Bunny Bump Off by Kathi Daley – book 5 in the Zoe Donovan Mystery series, published 2014 (currently 5 books in the series)

Easter Bunny Murder by Leslie Meier – book 19 in the Lucy Stone Mystery series, published 2013 (21 books)

Nickeled-and-Dimed to Death by Denise Swanson – book 2 in the Devereaux Dime Store Mystery series, published 2013 (3 books)

Pagan Spring by G.M. Malliet – book 3 in the Max Tudor Mystery series, published 2013 (4 books)

The Easter Egg Murder by Patricia Smith Wood – standalone novel, published 2013

Death of a Dumb Bunny by Melanie Jackson – book 7 in the Chloe Boston Mystery series, published 2011 (16 books)

Prey on Patmos by Jeffrey Siger – book 3 in the Inspector Andreas Kaldis Mystery Series

Antiques Bizarre by Barbara Allan – book 4 in the Trash ‘n’ Treasures Mystery series, published 2010 (9 books)

Murder on the Eightfold Path by Diana Killian – book 3 in the Mantra for Murder Mystery series, published 2010 (4 books)

Easter’s Lilly by Judy Serrano – first book in the Easter’s Lilly thriller series

Holy Terrors by Mary Daheim – book 3 in the Bed and Breakfast Mystery series, published 2009 (28 books)

The Lord is My Shepherd by Debbie Viguie – first book in the Psalm 23 Mysteries series, published 2009 (7 books)

In a Gilded Cage by Rhys Bowen – book 8 in the Molly Murphy Mysteries series, published 2009 (13 books)

The Cruelest Month by Louise Penny – book 3 in the Chief Inspector Armand Gamache series, published 2008 (10 books)

Eggsecutive Orders by Julie Hyzy, published 2008 – book 3 in the White House Chef Mystery series (7 books)

Server Down by J.M. Hayes – book 5 in the Mad Dog and Englishman Mystery series, published 2008 (6 books)

The Last Enemy by Grace Brophy – first book in the Commissario Cenni Investigation series, published 2007 (2 books)

Cue the Easter Bunny by Liz Evans – book 6 in the PI Grace Smith Mystery series, published 2007 (6 books)

The Soprano Wore Falsettos by Mark Schweizer – book 4 in the Liturgical Mystery series, published 2006 (11 books)

The Big Over Easy by Jasper Fforde – first book in the Nursery Crime Mystery series, published 2005 (3 books)

Do You Promise Not to Tell by Mary Jane Clark  – book 2 in the KEY News mystery series, published 2005 (10 books)

Some Like It Lethal by Nancy Martin – book 3 in the Blackbird Sisters Mystery series, published 2004 (12 books)

Out of the Deep I Cry by Julia Spencer-Fleming – book 3 in the Rev. Clare Fergusson & Russ Van Alstyne Mysteries series, published 2004 (9 books)

The Baritone Wore Chiffon by Mark Schweizer – book 2 in the Liturgical Mystery series, published 2004 (11 books)

The Blind Man of Seville by Robert Wilson – first book in the Javier Falcon Mystery series, published 2003 (4 books)

Murder on Good Friday by Sara Conway – standalone, published 2002

Wycliffe and the Last Rites by W.J. Burley, published 2002 – book 18 in the Wycliffe mystery series (22 books)

Aunt Dimity: Detective by Nancy Atherton – book 7 in the Aunt Dimity paranormal mystery series, published in 2001 (19 books)

Death and the Easter Bunny by Linda Berry – first book in the Trudy Roundtree Mystery series, published 1998 (6 books)

Saturday the Rabbi Went Hungry by Harry Kemelman – book 2 in the Rabbi Small Mysteries series, published 1996 (13 books)

Little Easter by Reed Farrel Coleman – book 2 in the Dylan Klein mystery series, published 1993 (3 books)

The Good Friday Murder by Lee Harris – first book in the Christine Bennett Mystery series, published 1992 (17 books)

Precious Blood by Jane Haddam – book 2 in the Gregor Demarkian Mystery series, published 1991 (29 books)

Easter Weekend by David Bottoms – standalone novel, published 1990

Tourist Trap by Julie Smith – book 3 in the Rebecca Schwartz Mysteries series, published 1986 (5 books)

Ship Of Danger by Mabel Esther Allan – standalone novel, published 1973


Like these books

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *