M.J. Arlidge Books In Order

Last Updated on June 12, 2020  M.J. Arlidge is a relatively newer British crime mystery author, known for his Helen Grace British thriller series. Reading his books in order means delving into the crazy world of Helen Grace, a series which right now is at book #9.

Here are the M.J. Arlidge books in order for his series and standalone novels, and this list will be updated with any other novel he will be writing in the future.

New MJ Arlidge Book

All Fall Down

All Fall Down (DI Helen Grace #9) 2019

Helen Grace Series

  1. Eeny Meeny (Helen Grace #1), 2014
  2. Pop Goes the Weasel (Helen Grace #2), 2014
  3. The Doll’s House (Helen Grace #3), 2015
  4. Liar Liar (Helen Grace #4), 2015
  5. Little Boy Blue (Helen Grace #5), 2016
  6. No Way Back (Helen Grace #5.5), 2016
  7. Hide and Seek (Helen Grace #6), 2016
  8. Running Blind (Helen Grace, #6.5), 2016
  9. Love Me Not (Helen Grace #7), 2017
  10. Down to the Woods (Helen Grace #8), 2018
  11. All Fall Down (Helen Grace #9), 2020

Standalone M.J. Arlidge Books

About M.J. Arlidge

M J Arlidge author

M.J. Arlidge was born in 1974 in London, where he also grew up and attended the University College School between the age of 7-18.

His father, Anthony Arlidge, a QC (Queen’s Counsel) barrister had a major influence on the to-be author’s career due to him prosecuting several high-profile criminals, including Jeremy Bamber, who murdered both his parents.

After getting over his shock when following these trials, Matt became intrigued and also interested in the world of killers and how best to catch and prosecute them.

Before he went to college, he traveled quite a lot to countries such as Singapore, Australia, and India. After his return to the UK, he got an English Literature degree at the St Johns College in Cambridge. Soon after enrolled at the Bristol University to study Film and TV Production.

During this time won the Douglas Chivers prize for outstanding Shakespeare scholarship.

Before starting his fiction novel career, he worked in television production first as a story liner and later as a script editor at Eastenders, the popular BBC1 TV series. After he left Eastenders, he went to work for  Ecosse Films, a British Film and TV production company, where he lined and edited the TV show that the company produced called Monarch of the Glen. Soon he was promoted to the job of TV development producer where he worked on shows including  Mistresses and Cape Wrath.

In 2007 M.J. Arlidge decided to work for himself for once and created TXTV Limited, a production company working on his own, where he created successful TV shows such as Torn, The Little House and Undeniable.

During the last few years, he worked on several crime thrillers for the ITV, while currently, he is working on a BBC adaptation of the book The Last of the Mohicans. In 2015 he wrote a 10 part thriller for the major audiobook company called Audible called Six Degrees of Assassination.

Eeny Meeny

The first book by M.J. Arlidge, Eeny Meeny was published in 2014. This was the author’s debut novel. The book turned out to be the first in the Helen Grace series, featuring the tough, slightly enigmatic detective who solves the hardest cases involving serial killers of the worst kind.

In an interview, the author MJ Arlidge admitted that he choose the name of his main character because…

she is constantly seeking redemption – a state of Grace – that she will never achieve.

The Helen Grace series follows Helen, a detective inspector in England who is battling her past demons that still weigh heavily on her. Helen is cold, unapproachable and highly enigmatic with lots of secrets tucked away. Secrets which would not only get her kicked out of the force but more. At the same time, she is also very good at her job, doing what she knows best to do: solve cases and put murderers behind bars.

As the series continues we get to learn more and more about Helen, what makes her tick and why she is the way she is.

As I mentioned before, Eeny Meeny by M.J. Arlidge is the author’s debut novel, where we are first introduced to the enigmatic DI Helen Grace who is tasked to find and stop a ruthless serial killer who plays the well-known children’s game eeny meeny moo while abducing pairs of people with some dire consequences.

We first learn here about Helen Grace’s demons she is battling, a bit of her past and the secrets she is trying desperately to hide from her peers.

In The Doll’s House, Helen Grace has again a very difficult case (she seems to be getting only the toughest of cases) where another sick killer kidnaps similar-looking young women, leaves them to starve to death and then disposes of them in various locations. We learn again a bit more about Helen, what drives her and why her past is so twisted as it is.

In Little Boy Blue, Helen has to investigate a case that is very close to her heart. A body is found at a bondage club, and Helen seems to have known that person quite well. This is why reading the M.J. Arlidge Helen Grace books in order is so important. I can’t reveal more about this book without spoilers because this particular book goes back to a previous novel in the series and Helen’s personal hidden life.

Hide and Seek is the sixth book in the Helen Grace series by M.J. Arlidge, and here we find Helen sitting in prison for a crime we all know didn’t commit. She was framed and now she has to suffer the consequences of her previous actions.

Not only that, but knowing Helen, she can’t stand idle, so while her colleagues are trying to desperately prove she was innocent of the crime, Helen is also working on a case of her own. An inmate was killed and Helen wants and needs to find out who the killer is.

The MJ Arlidge books are a joy to read for anyone who loves suspenseful and thrilling crime mystery novels featuring a tough and troubled heroine.

A Gift For Dying is M.J. Arlidge’s latest book, his first published standalone novel, released in 2019. When Chicago is startled by a string of killings, the police are sure that the city has a new serial killer in their midst. Nobody knows who he is or what he’s up to, except for Kassie, who says she knew about the murders before they were even about to happen.

When Adam Brandt, a well-respected forensic psychologist meets Kassie at the police station, he is fascinated by her. When she starts seeing him professionally at his practice, Adam knows that something is terribly wrong, especially when she once mentions to him that he will be the one to kill her.

Spread the love
  • 110

2 Responses to “M.J. Arlidge Books In Order”

Read below or add a comment...

  1. Imelda Rigby says:

    My favourite author by far – his Helen Grace is a spectacular character full of mystery and intrigue got to love her – as is Charlie – have read all his books in order (a must for getting to know each character) and have now just completed All Fall Down never thought I would shed a tear but I did now on the look out for Truth or Dare.
    For all who enjoy this genre you will not be disappointed.

  2. elizabeth irvine says:

    terrific author, once you start a book it is hard to put it down, especially the Helen Grace ones, when you finish you cannot wait to start his next one, I have read most of his books and I hope he will continue to write as I have read a lot of these kind of books but find he is one of the best, if not the best author I have come across

Leave A Comment...