The Specsavers Crime Thriller Awards 2014 Winners Announced

specsavers crime thriller awards 2014This year The Specsavers Crime Thriller Awards were given out at the Grosvenor House Hotel in London on the 24th of October, yesterday.

Hosted by Bradley Walsh, the event drew in lots of great mystery and thriller authors, actors, actresses, producers and directors in a very glamorous setting.

The ceremony enters its 7th successive year, in collaboration with Specsavers and ITV.

Each year 11 awards will be given to authors, actors and actresses, in honor of best in books, TV and film in the much loved genre.

Here are the winners for the events in the various categories for 2014:

  • Keeley Hawes for Line of Duty – Dagger for Best Actress
  • Matthew McConaughey for True Detective – Dagger for Best Actor
  • James Norton for Happy Valley – Dagger for Best Supporting Actor
  • Amanda Abbington for Sherlock – Dagger for Best Supporting Actress
  • Happy Valley – Dagger for Best TV Series
  • True Detective – Dagger for Best International TV Series
  • Cold in July – Dagger for Best Film
  • Peter May – Crime Thriller Book Club Best Read of the Year
  • Wiley Cash – CWA Goldsboro Gold Dagger
  • Ray Celestin for The Axeman’s Jazz (his debut novel) – CWA John Creasey New Blood Dagger
  • Robert Harris for An Officer and a Spy – CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger for Best Thriller of the Year

For the first time Denise Mina, Robert Harris and Midsomer Murders were inducted into the Hall of Fame. At this event, Amanda Ross, Managing Director of Cactus TV, creator of the awards and season for ITV3 said:

“This is the most popular genre of fiction on the screen and in print, so it’s great to be able to honour its true stars. Bradley Walsh was on sparkling form, so I’m sure the viewers at home will enjoy the event as much as all the stars in the room.”

Like these books

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *