Meg Gardiner Books in Order

Reading the Meg Gardiner books in order means picking up the author’s popular Jo Beckett forensic psychiatrist thriller series, the Evan Delaney freelance journalist series, and the new Caitlin Hendrix / UNSUB detective series, which currently includes two books, with the latest published in 2018.

Meg Gardiner thriller authorMeg Gardiner (website) was born in 1957 in Oklahoma, but her family soon moved to Santa Barbara, California, where she grew up. She attended  Dos Pueblos High School in Goleta, where she wrote for the school newspaper. She graduated from high school in 1975.

From then on she went to Stanford University, earning a Bachelor’s degree in Economics. During this time she wrote several short stories in her spare time.

Next, she attended and graduated from the Stanford Law School.

After finishing her studies, Meg Gardiner practiced law in Los Angeles for a while, before moving back to Santa Barbara, where she began teaching legal research and writing at the Santa Barbara University of California.

In the early 1990s due to her husband’s job, she moved with him and their three young kids to the UK. Having time on her hands since she was out of a day job and was not interested in getting qualified to work as a barrister in the UK, Meg began writing thriller novels. She finished her debut novel, China Lake, which was published in 2002 UK and several years later in the US.

During her stay in the UK, the author Meg Gardiner lived in Surrey near London until 2013 when she moved back to the US to Austin, Texas, where she is still living with her husband.

An interesting trivia about the author: She is not only an accomplished writer but also a three-time Jeopardy! champion.

Reading the Meg Gardiner books in order for each series is recommended, not the least because there is a slight overlap between the Jo Beckett and Evan Delaney series.

My first contact with Meg Gardiner’s books was when I bought China Lake at a thrift store over 10 years ago. It turned out that it was the first Evan Delaney novel, so I hurried to buy the second one as well, Mission Canyon since it was already out.

The author’s first book in the UNSUB series is titled UNSUB, published in 2017, which will be made into a TV series by CBS, focusing on a female detective’s chase of an infamous serial killer which might be the not-yet-caught Zodiac killer.

Here are the Meg Gardiner books in order of reading and publication order. The list will be updated with any new novels published in the future.

Evan Delaney Series

  1. China Lake (Evan Delaney #1), 2002
  2. Mission Canyon (Evan Delaney #2), 2003
  3. Jericho Point (Evan Delaney #3), 2004
  4. Crosscut (Evan Delaney #4), 2005
  5. Kill Chain (Evan Delaney #5), 2006

Jo Beckett Series

  1. The Dirty Secrets Club (Jo Beckett #1), 2008
  2. The Memory Collector (Jo Beckett #2), 2009
  3. The Liar’s Lullaby (Jo Beckett #3), 2010
  4. The Nightmare Thief (Jo Beckett #4), 2011

Caitlin Hendrix/UNSUB Series

  1. UNSUB (UNSUB #1), 2017
  2. Into the Black Nowhere (UNSUB #2), 2018

Other Meg Gardiner Books

  • Ransom River, 2012
  • The Shadow Tracer, 2013
  • Phantom Instinct, 2014
Spread the love
  • 4

Leave A Comment...


The following GDPR rules must be read and accepted:
This form collects your name, email and content so that we can keep track of the comments placed on the website. For more info check our privacy policy where you will get more info on where, how and why we store your data.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.