MWA Announces the 2018 Grand Masters

Edgar Allan Poe Awards

Mystery Writers of America (MWA) has released the Grandmaster Award list for 2018. The Grandmaster Award is given to authors recognized for their invaluable contribution to the crime, mystery genre, who have a constant high-quality writing. The three Grandmasters chosen for 2018 are Jane Langton, William Link, and Peter Lovesey. They will receive their awards on April 26, 2018, at the  72nd Annual Edgar Awards Banquet held at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in New York City. Jane Langton is a popular mystery writer and illustrator, with a career of over 40 years. Several of her books have been nominated for various awards. Her book […] Read more »

Winners of the 2017 Davitt Awards

Davitt Awards 2017

The Davitt Awards are presented each year to women crime writers in Australia. This year the judges had their hands full reading nearly 100 novels, some of which have been written by debut authors. That’s quite a huge number for a monumental task! The 2017 awards have been presented by Hilary Bonney, a  true crime writer, barrister, and television producer, at Melbourne’s Thornbury Theatre on Saturday 26 August, 7 pm during a gala’s dinner. While there are no monetary prizes offered for this award, what the winners get are some beautifully carved polished wooded trophies. The Davitts Award has been named after Ellen Davitt, […] Read more »

Dead Good Reader Awards 2017 Winners

Dead Good Awards Winners 2017

Here are the winners of the Dead Good Reader Awards 2017 announced this July. The event took place at the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival in Harrogate. The ceremony was presented by Mark Lawson and Kathy Reichs, who put in a guest appearance. Six lucky authors were named best in class based on votes given by mystery book readers. The winners in their respective categories are listed below, with the shortlist mentioned just under each category winner. The Kathy Reichs Award for Fearless Female Character: Category Winner: Helen Grace, M J Arlidge Shortlist: Lori Anderson, Steph Broadribb Erika Foster, Robert Bryndza […] Read more »

MWA Edgar Award Winners 2017

Edgar Allan Poe Awards

This year the  Edgar® Awards were presented to the winners at the 71st Gala Banquet, April 27, 2017 at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in New York City. Here are the winners in each category: Best Novel Before the Fall by Noah Hawley (Hachette Book Group – Grand Central Publishing) Best First Novel by an American Author Under the Harrow by Flynn Berry (Penguin Random House – Penguin Books) Best Paperback Original Rain Dogs by Adrian McKinty (Prometheus Books – Seventh Street Books) Best Fact Crime The Wicked Boy: The Mystery of a Victorian Child Murderer by Kate Summerscale (Penguin Random House […] Read more »

Goodreads Choice Awards 2016

Goodreads Choice Awards-2016

It’s that time of the year again when book related websites and magazines have the best books voted on or listed for the year. As usual Goodreads once again asks for readers to vote for the best book of the year, and for the mystery and thriller category these are the books considered top 15: J.D. Robb – Brotherhood in Death (In Death #42) Louise Penny – A Great Reckoning ( Armand Gamache #12) Angela Marsons – Play Dead (DI Kim Stone #4) Noah Hawley – Before The Fall B.A. Paris – Behind Closed Doors Stephen King – End Of […] Read more »

The McIlvanney Prize Award Longlist Announced For 2016


The 2016 McIlvanney Prize Award longlist for Scottish crime mystery books for 2016 has just been released at the Bloody Scotland International Crime Writing festival. This year’s festival is the first one since the death of the popular Scottish author, also known as the father of Scottish mystery genre called “Tartan Noir”. The author died in 2015 and he is best known for his Jack Laidlaw series. The Bloody Scotland International Crime Writing festival will take place in the town of Stirling between September 9-11, when the  McIlvanney Prize (previously known as the Scottish Crime Book of the Year) will be awarded to one of the 10 […] Read more »

Edgar Awards Winners 2016

Edgar Allan Poe Awards

The winners of the popular Edgar Allan Poe Awards are finally out for 2016. The ceremony took place yesterday, April 28 in New York at the Grand Hyatt Hotel. Hundreds of people attended as the awards seeked to honor the best in mystery fiction, non-fiction and TV, all published in 2015. Here are the winners and nominees  – congrats to all! Best Novel: Winner: Let Me Die In His Footsteps by Lori Roy Also nominated: The Strangler Vine by M.J. Carter The Lady From Zagreb by Philip Kerr Life or Death by Michael Robotham Canary by Duane Swierczynski Night Life by […] Read more »

The 2016 Edgar Awards Nominees Announced

Edgar Allan Poe

With today’s celebration of Edgar Allan Poe’s 207th birthday, Mystery Writers of America has announced its 2016’s nominees for the Edgar Awards. The awards honor the best in mystery fiction, non-fiction as well as TV that was produced in 2015. The winners of the awards will be revealed April 28 this year, at the  70th Gala Banquet at the Grand Hyatt Hotel, New York City. Here are the nominees for fiction and non-fiction writing: BEST NOVEL The Strangler Vine by M.J. Carter The Lady From Zagreb by Philip Kerr Life or Death by Michael Robotham Let Me Die in His Footsteps by Lori […] Read more »

Murder In The Court – The 2015 Ngaio Marsh Award Winner Revealed

Ngaio Marsh award

On October 4 this year the whodunit and who-won-it will be revealed at an entertaining event at The Court Theatre organized by Ngaio Marsh Award, WORD Christchurch and The Press. This year’s event which will begin at 5 pm will include the following interesting activities: an improvised murder mystery on the spot by The Court Jesters, chapters read from the finalists books, an opportunity to mingle with the finalists, and of course, the name of the winner revealed. The winner will receive the Ngaio Marsh Award trophy, a set of Dame Ngaio’s novels courtesy of her publisher HarperCollins, along with a cash prize […] Read more »

Stephen King Awarded National Medal of Arts by President Barack Obama

National Medals of Arts

Stephen King, the prolific thriller/horror novelist will receive this year the 2014 National Medal of Arts award, presented to him by the US president Barack Obama September 10. He is indeed one of the biggest novelists of the century, and this award is a tribute to his excellent writing and storytelling skills. He is cited to be awarded: “Stephen King for his contributions as an author. One of the most popular and prolific writers of our time, Mr. King combines his remarkable storytelling with his sharp analysis of human nature. For decades, his works of horror, suspense, science fiction, and fantasy have […] Read more »