The McIlvanney Prize Award Longlist Announced For 2016

Bloody-Scotland The 2016 McIlvanney Prize Award longlist for Scottish crime mystery books for 2016 has just been released at the Bloody Scotland International Crime Writing festival.

This year’s festival is the first one since the death of the popular Scottish author, also known as the father of Scottish mystery genre called “Tartan Noir”. The author died in 2015 and he is best known for his Jack Laidlaw series.

The Bloody Scotland International Crime Writing festival will take place in the town of Stirling between September 9-11, when the  McIlvanney Prize (previously known as the Scottish Crime Book of the Year) will be awarded to one of the 10 Scottish mystery novels and authors during the ceremony.

Here is the longlist chosen by an independent panel of readers:

Even Dogs in the Wild by Ian Rankin

Open Wounds by Douglas Skelton

The Damage Done by James Oswald

The Special Dead by Lin Anderson

In the Cold Dark Ground by Stuart MacBride

Black Widow by Chris Brookmyre

The Jump by Doug Johnstone

Splinter the Silence by Val McDermid

Beloved Poison by E. S. Thomson

A Fine House in Trinity by Lesley Kelly

Previous winners of the Scottish crime mystery award were Craig Russell with The Ghosts of Altona in 2015, Peter May with Entry Island in 2014, Malcolm Mackay with How a Gunman Says Goodbye in 2013, and Charles Cumming with A Foreign Country in 2012.

Spread the love

Leave A Comment...