Robert Bailey Books In Order

Robert Bailey (website) is the author of the McMurtrie and Drake legal thrillers series which currently includes 3 books.

The series focuses on Law professor Thomas Jackson McMurtrie who wrote the book on evidence in the state of Alabama. His once student and enemy, Rick Drake, becomes his partner and the team now works together to solve crimes.

Robert Bailey authorBorn in Huntsville, Alabama, Robert Bailey attended the Davidson College in North Carolina from where he received his Bachelor of Arts in History in 1996.

After his BA degree, he went to law school at the University of Alabama, where he served on the law review, which is an honor that is received only by those students who can write really well. He graduated with a degree in JD (Juris Doctor) in 1999.

He has been working as a civil defense trial lawyer in Huntsville with the law firm of Lanier Ford Shaver & Payne for the last 17 years. He is married to Dixie Bailey with whom he has three children, a girl, and two boys.

While he is still practicing law full time, he is now also a legal thriller author with two books published to date. His first book The Professor was published in 2014, and it received three major awards, including the 2014 Beverly Hills Book Award for Legal Thriller of the Year, the 2014 National Indie Excellence Award finalist, legal thriller and the 2014 Great Southeast Book Festival, Honorable Mention for General Fiction.

It took him 8 years to finish his first novel and get it published. One of the main characters, Rick Drake. draws a lot of parallels with the author’s years attending law school.

The latest McMurtrie and Drake novel, The Last Trial, brings back Tom McMurtrie to trial probably his most difficult case so far. His old nemesis, Jack Willistone, is dead, killed and left on the shores of the Black Warrior River.

The 14-year-old boy who asked him to look into the case since his mother is accused of having killed Jack might be onto something because Tom is not all that sure that she did the killing.

Tom’s partner, Rick Drake, has his own personal issues to deal with, so in this case Tom partners up with Bocephus Haynes, his best friend, to help investigate the murder. Bo lost his law license, so all he can do is investigate, but nothing more.

In addition, what even Tom didn’t account for is that the judge presiding over this very case is an old student of his who still holds a grudge against McMurtrie for believing he was not treated fairly back in law school.

While the series is called a thriller series, based on the so-far three published books, it is really more of a legal crime mystery series.

Here are the Robert Bailey books in order for his McMurtrie and Drake legal thriller series.

McMurtrie and Drake Series

  1. The Professor (McMurtrie and Drake #1), 2014
  2. Between Black and Whiter (McMurtrie and Drake #2), 2016
  3. The Last Trial (McMurtrie and Drake #3), 2018
Spread the love

One Response to “Robert Bailey Books In Order”

Read below or add a comment...

  1. Shirley Bailey says:

    Providing my eyes hold out, I am about to open “The Last Trial”. Your books truly fit the category of ” can’t put them down until the last page” I have been struck by the fact that so many instances in “Between Black and White” are so relevant in todays world.. Sadly I might add! Your fictitious Thomas Jackson McMurtrie, is reminding me more and more of current legal genius Mr. Robert Mueller, that says a lot about Thomas Jackson McMurtrie.. Love the location of these novels, I have lived in southern areas and in that way I relate to the laid back, country atmosphere. It would have been best to read your books in order, however that has not interfered with my enjoyment.. I hope that you will continue to feature all of the current family of characters The Professor, Drake, Bo, etc in more of your work. Respectfully, Shirley Bailey..

Leave A Comment...