Clive Cussler, Author of the Dirk Pitt Novels Dies at Age 88

Clive Cussler

Clive Cussler, the author of the bestselling adventure series Dirk Pitt, passed away on Monday, February 24, at the age of 88. While the cause of death has not been confirmed yet, the author’s wife, Janet Horvath, shared on Twitter, It is with a heavy heart that I share the sad news that my husband Clive passed away [on] Monday. It has been a privilege to share in his life. I want to thank you, his fans and friends, for all the support. He was the kindest most gentle man I ever met. I know, his adventures will continue. Over the […] Read more »

Author Guest Post: How One Author Keeps Her Mysteries Fresh By Patricia Fry

Patricia Fry author

Patricia Fry is the author of 66 books in her mystery series, 24 of them are cozy mysteries in the Klepto Cat Mystery series. This series features Rags, an ordinary cat with some extraordinary habits. He can’t keep his paws off of other people’s things. Some of the items he finds become clues in the current mystery. While these stories are human-driven, Rags and his feline, canine, and equine friends are ever-present throughout the series. The Klepto Cat Mysteries are in print, ebook (Kindle), and Book One, Catnapped is also available as an audio book. I’ve been writing for publication […] Read more »

Author Guest Post: The Enduring Mystery of the Knights Templar By James Becker

James Becker author

James Becker is the author of The Lost Treasure of the Templars thriller trilogy featuring the adventures of antiquarian bookseller Robin Jessop and encryption expert David Mallory. The books in the series are The Lost Treasure Of The Templars, The Templar Archive and coming to The Brotherhood Of The Skull (coming out early next year). This guest post on Mystery Sequels will give a brief history of the Knights Templar (also called as Poor Fellow-Soldiers of Christ and of the Temple of Solomon and the Order of Solomon’s Temple, or simply the Templars, with all the myths, half truths, and facts that are surrounding […] Read more »

Author Guest Post: Why Spies Lie by DS Kane

DS Kane

D.S. Kane is the pseudonym under which David Spiselman writes his spy novels. He is a former intelligence operative who had his cover blown at some point, a fact which made him cautiously switch gears from spy work to consultant work and later to writing books. D.S. Kane is now crafting clever spy fiction that exposes the way intelligence agencies tell lies to sway and manipulate their national policy, driving countries into dangerous conflicts. And based on the reviews on Amazon and Goodreads, he writes some really good fiction too. I am honored to give the stage to D.S. Kane to talk on Mystery Sequels about spies, […] Read more »

Stephen King Awarded National Medal of Arts by President Barack Obama

National Medals of Arts

Stephen King, the prolific thriller/horror novelist will receive this year the 2014 National Medal of Arts award, presented to him by the US president Barack Obama September 10. He is indeed one of the biggest novelists of the century, and this award is a tribute to his excellent writing and storytelling skills. He is cited to be awarded: “Stephen King for his contributions as an author. One of the most popular and prolific writers of our time, Mr. King combines his remarkable storytelling with his sharp analysis of human nature. For decades, his works of horror, suspense, science fiction, and fantasy have […] Read more »

Author Guest Post: On Creating A New Series at Age 64

Susan Kraus

With this post, I am introducing a new feature on Mystery Sequels: author guest posts. These posts are exclusively written by mystery book authors and they focus on the art of writing, their creative process, their books, or any other relevant topic which allows us to learn more about our favorite mystery writers without the restrictions of a given set of questions that they have to adhere to. The first author guest post is written by Susan Kraus, the author of Fall From Grace and All God’s Children, on her experiences creating a new mystery series at the age of […] Read more »

The Specsavers Crime Thriller Awards 2014 Winners Announced

specsavers crime thriller awards 2014

This year The Specsavers Crime Thriller Awards were given out at the Grosvenor House Hotel in London on the 24th of October, yesterday. Hosted by Bradley Walsh, the event drew in lots of great mystery and thriller authors, actors, actresses, producers and directors in a very glamorous setting. The ceremony enters its 7th successive year, in collaboration with Specsavers and ITV. Each year 11 awards will be given to authors, actors and actresses, in honor of best in books, TV and film in the much loved genre. Here are the winners for the events in the various categories for 2014: Keeley Hawes […] Read more »

Happy Birthday Agatha Christie!

Agatha Christie

Today is Agatha Christie’s birthday (real name Mary Clarissa Agatha Miller). It is a special day for all mystery book readers.. It was the day when the queen of mystery and suspense was born. September 15, 1890. Many of us readers of mystery novels grew up with her books and we consider her tales classics, and with good reason. Even the Guinness Book of World Records has her name under the heading ‘the best selling novelist of all times’. Books like Murder on the Orient Express, Death on the Nile,  And Then There Were None and The Murder of Roger […] Read more »