Greg Iles Books in Order

Greg Iles (website) is an American crime mystery author who has written 16 novels and one novella so far. His most popular work to date is his Penn Cage thriller series.

He was born in 1960 in Stuttgart, Germany. He soon moved with his family to the US, to Natchez, Mississippi, a place which is the setting for several of his crime novels.

Growing up in Natchez, he attended Trinity Episcopal Day School, following which, he went to the University of Mississippi, from which he graduated in 1983.

Before becoming an establish novelist, Greg Iles was part of a band called Frankly Scarlet,  as a singer, song writer, and guitarist. After getting married and starting his work on his debut novel, Spandau Phoenix, he left the band. The novel was published in 1993.

In 2002 he wrote the script for 24-Hours, a movie made based on his same-name book. Eventually its name was changed to Trapped.

Over the years, he wrote several novels that ended up various bestsellers lists. In 2011 the author suffered a life-threatening car accident in which he lost his right leg below the knee. To save him, doctors put him in an induced coma that lasted 8 days.

While he was recuperating, for the next three years he started and finished his Penn Cage legal thriller trilogy, featuring the former prosecutor who is a writer wannabe. Penn Cage appeared in some of the author’s previous novels as well, including The Quiet Game, Turning Angel and the Deil’s Punchbowl, however his role was small smaller compared to when he got his own trilogy to star in.

With his love for music still going strong, Greg Iles joined the literary musical group The Rock Bottom Remainders, which had over the years several other popular novelists, including Steven King, Ridley Pearson, Scott Turow, Amy Tan, and Mitch Albom, to name just a few.

It was with this group that he co-authored Hard Listening in 2013, featuring essays, photographs, fiction, various conversations, and musings. It also includes interactive quizzes that allows the reader to get a glimpse into the lives of authors and musicians.

Here are the Greg Iles books in order for his numerous mystery and thriller series, both in series and as standalone novels.

The Penn Cage/Nachez Burning Series

1. The Quiet Game (Penn Cage #1), 1999

2. Turning Angel (Penn Cage #2), 2005

3. The Devil’s Punchbowl (Penn Cage #3), 2009

4. The Death Factory (Penn Cage #3.5), 2014

5. Natchez Burning (Penn Cage #4 / Nachez Burning #1), 2014

6. The Bone Tree (Penn Cage #5 / Nachez Burning #2), 2015

7. Mississippi Blood (Penn Cage #6 / Nachez Burning #3), 2017

WWII Series

1. Black Cross, 1995

2. Spandau Phoenix, 1993

Other Books by Greg Iles

Mortal Fear, 1997

24 Hours, 2000

Dead Sleep, 2001

Sleep No More, 2002

The Footprints of God/Dark Matter, 2003

Blood Memory, 2005

Turning Angel, 2005

True Evil, 2006

Third Degree, 2007

Hard Listening, 2013 (non-fiction)

Spread the love