Sydney Bauer Books In Order

Sydney Bauer, the author alias of Kimberly Scott (website) is an Australian writer who is known for her David Cavanaugh legal mystery series.

With her parents a theater manager and film promoter (father) and fashion model (mother), Sydney Bauer grew up with an interest in media, film, and books, and as such, by her late teens she was spending long night hours learning for her communications degree, while during the day she was being a busy copy girl at a  major Sydney metropolitan newspaper.

She soon graduated to become a full correspondent traveling across the country covering crime and topics in the judicial system. Over the years she worked as a features editor at a major Australian magazine for young women, and in the early 90s started working in the TV commercials arena.

At first, she worked at Network Ten as a junior publicist, and then got the job of  National Network Director of Publicity after four years, until she transferred in the late 1990s to Seven Network where she became Sydney Director of Programming.

While she loved her job in the TV branch, she still longed to start writing books, which she finally did, with her first novel Undertow being published in 2007. It was the first David Cavanaugh novel, which was soon followed by 5 other books in the same series.

As she explained in an interview, her pseudonym Syndey Bauer came from two TV shows – Alias and 24. For those who (like me) enjoyed these shows back in the day, I’m sure you remember both Sydney and Bauer. Of course, the name Sydney has also ties to her own home place. Another Easter egg surrounding the author that I found was her third book with the title Alibi…

Below I have listed the Sydney Bauer books in order for her legal thriller series.

David Cavanaugh Series In Order

1. Undertow (David Cavanaugh #1), 2007

2. Gospel (David Cavanaugh #2), 2007

3. Alibi (David Cavanaugh #3), 2008

4. Move to Strike (David Cavanaugh #4), 2009

5. Matter of Trust (David Cavanaugh #5), 2010

6. The 3rd Victim (David Cavanaugh #6), 2011


Like these books


  1. I am just about to read the last of your David Cavanaugh books and I am keen to continue the series. Have you written any other books in the series since 2011?

  2. Hi Sydney – Have read all of your books and was wondering when the next one will come out since noticing that the last one was published in 2011?

  3. I just finished the first book of yours that I had been given with a high recommendation. I can’t wait to get my hands on the next. Undertow was the one I finished and I am glad once I can read them in the order you wrote them. That never happens to me! I live in the U.S. but have been to Australia 4 times and really have a feel for most of the different areas. Keep up the good work and I will be recommending you to others.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *