Scott Pratt Books In Order

Scott Pratt is the author of the Joe Dillard legal thriller series, featuring the criminal defense lawyer Joe Dillard in rural Tennessee, and two standalone novels.

The Joe Dillard series includes currently 8 books, with the latest titled Judgement Coment, published in 2016.

Here are the Scott Pratt books in order for his Joe Dillard series (in publication and reading order).

Joe Dillard Series In Order

1. An Innocent Client (Joe Dillard #1), 2008

2. In Good Faith (Joe Dillard #2), 2009

3. Injustice For All (Joe Dillard #3), 2010

4. Reasonable Fear (Joe Dillard #4), 2011

5. Conflict of Interest (Joe Dillard #5), 2013

6. Blood Money (Joe Dillard #6), 2013 (rewrite of the author’s older book called Russo’s Gold)

7. A Crime of Passion (Joe Dillard #7), 2014

8. Judgement Cometh (And That Right Soon) (Joe Dillard #8), 2016

Other Books By Scott Pratt

River on Fire, 2013

Justice Redeemed, 2015

About The Author

Scott PrattScott Pratt (website) was born in 1956 in South Haven, Michigan and grew up in Jonesborough, Tennessee. He always liked to write.

While in highschool, he started to write as a contributor to the school publication called Reflections.

After graduation, he attended the East Tennessee State University from where he received his Bachelor of Arts degree in English. It is also here that he received the McClellan Award for outstanding writing.

Some of the jobs that he held over the years were that of a newspaper journalist, columnist and editor at various newspapers  in Johnson City and Kingsport, Tennessee, which he did for about 10 years. He then attended the University of Tennessee where in 1998 he earned his Doctor of Jurisprudence law degree.

Before writing his first novel An Innocent Client, which is also the first Joe Dillard story, Scott Pratt worked as a criminal defense lawyer for around 8 years before he had an altercation with an opposing judge, who threw him to jail for contempt, and suspended him.

This is when he decided to stop working as a lawyer. Once after reading The Lincoln Lawyer by Michael Connelly, he decided that this is what he wants to do: write novels, court dramas and thrillers.

He wrote his first book in his early 50s, and that is a great motivational story for any aspiring novelist. Now he is a full time writer, working on his next novel. His latest book is Judgement Cometh: And That Right Soon, the 8th in the Joe Dillard series, however in 2015 he also wrote a standalone novel called Justice Redeemed.

When he switched publishers to Thomas & Mercer, they asked him to write a standalone novel, and he welcomed the temporary departure from his beloved Joe Dillard character.

Like these books


  1. I found the Joe Dillard series about a month ago. I guess I like them, I’ve read all nine. They are full of detail, intrigue, heart, and humor. Joe and Leon are real people doing their jobs. Family ties are real, no perfection.

    Okay, Scott Pratt, where is number ten?

  2. I just found this author thru Amazon Kindle and love his Joe Dillard Series – up to #7 – can’t put them down – hope his other series are as good. haven’t listened to his audio yet – hoping that will be good listening cuz I like listening to books when I ride my bike. So far I have only found Susan Erickson of the In Death series the best.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *