Robert K. Tanenbaum Books In Order

Robert K. Tanenbaum is the author of the popular Butch Karp legal thriller series, which currently includes 28 books. He is also an attorney and is a former mayor of Beverly Hills in California.

Currently the author has 29 Butch Karp books published, with the latest one Without Fear or Favor, published in 2017, as well as 3 non-fiction books, all related to crimes and criminals.

The book The Piano Teacher was co-written with Peter S. Greenberg.

Here are the Robert K. Tanenbaum books in order for his Butch Karp legal thriller series.

Butch Karp Series In Order

1. No Lesser Plea (Butch Karp #1), 1987

2. Depraved Indifference (Butch Karp #2), 1989

3. Immoral Certainty (Butch Karp #3), 1991

4. Reversible Error (Butch Karp #4), 1992

5. Material Witness (Butch Karp #5), 1993

6. Corruption of Blood (Butch Karp #6), 1994

7. Justice Denied (Butch Karp #7), 1994

8. Falsely Accused (Butch Karp #8), 1996

9. Irresistible Impulse (Butch Karp #9), 1997

10. Reckless Endangerment (Butch Karp #10), 1998

11. Act of Revenge (Butch Karp #11), 1999

12. True Justice (Butch Karp #12), 2000

13. Enemy Within (Butch Karp #13), 2001

14. Absolute Rage (Butch Karp #14), 2002

15. Resolved (Butch Karp #15), 2003

16. Hoax (Butch Karp #16), 2004

17. Fury (Butch Karp #17), 2005

18. Counterplay (Butch Karp #18), 2006

19. Malice (Butch Karp #19), 2007

20. Escape (Butch Karp #20), 2008

21. Capture (Butch Karp #21), 2009

22. Betrayed (Butch Karp #22), 2010

23. Outrage (Butch Karp #23), 2011

24. Bad Faith (Butch Karp #24), 2012

25. Tragic (Butch Karp #25), 2013

26. Fatal Conceit (Butch Karp #26), 2014

27. Trap (Butch Karp #27), 2015

28. Infamy (Butch Karp #28), 2016 – book review

29. Without Fear or Favor (Butch Karp #29), 2017

Non-Fiction Books By Robert K. Tanenbaum

The Piano Teacher: The True Story of a Psychotic Killer, 1987

Badge of the Assassin, 1979

Echoes of My Soul, 2013

About the Author

Robert K TannenbaumRobert K. Tanenbaum (website) we was born and grew up in Brooklyn, New York,. With a basketball scholarship he attended the University of California, Berkeley where he received his BA.

Later on he enrolled at the Boalt Hall School of Law, at the same university, where he received his J.D.

After his graduation from law school, he moved back to New York, where he started his work as a lawyer.

He worked as an Assistant New York County District Attorney in Manhattan, where he later became head of the Homicide Bureau, served as Chief of the Criminal Courts, and was in charge of the D.A.’s legal staff training program.

This was a job which he left in 1977 disappointed the way it all became too political with regards to whether to prosecute and if yes, what penalties to give. Sometimes plea bargains were offered when they should not have been, and fairness was no longer the word of the day. However during his time in Manhattan he never lost a felony case.

His next venture took him to investigate the J.F. Kennedy assassination and the Martin Luther King Jr. assassination, working as the Deputy Chief Counsel for the for the House Select Committee on these cases.

He also worked in the prosecution of the Hillside Strangler in Los Angeles, as well as mounting the defense for Amy Grossberg, and worked several other high profile cases.

In addition he taught Advanced Criminal Procedure for four years at the very same school where he recieved his own J.D., at the Boalt Hall School of Law at the University of California, Berkeley. Currently Robert K. Tanenbaum is still holding seminars on continuing legal education for lawyers in California, New York, as well as Pennsylvania.

Following his career as an attorney, he also became mayor of Santa Barbara, California, serving two terms.

His writing career started in 1987 when he got both his fiction and non-fiction books published: No Lesser Plea, the first in the Butch Karp thriller series, and his true crime book called The Piano Teacher: The True Story of a Psychotic Killer.

Robert K. Tanenbaum is currently living in California with his wife and three children, where he has a private law practice and is writing his next book.


  1. I see Michael Gruber ghost wrote the first fifteen books in the Butch Karp series and wonder who wrote the remainder.

  2. I’m a total fan of the Butch Karp series with it’s wonderful cast of characters! I often reread them. Thank you Mr Tannenbaum for many hours of immersion into the world of Karp/Chiami.

  3. I’ve jumped into the middle of the Butch Karp stories with HOAX and am fascinated, especially that I’d never heard of him before and I’m looking at 29? in the list! Would very much like to communicate with Mr. Tanenbaum, re: his writing and mine.

  4. Not a spammer, just an eager reader for the next Butch Karp episode.

    I started reading these with No Lesser Plea, and they hooked me. Hurry up with the next one!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *