Jacqueline Winspear Books In Order

Jacqueline Winspear is the author of the historical mystery series Maisie Dobbs, featuring Maisie, a psychologist and private detective in London starting out in the 1920s after the end of WWI.

The first book in the series was published in 2003, and the latest release appears early 2017 under the title In This Grave Hour. The 13th book finds Maisey at the cusp of WWII, while she reopens her detective investigation company.

Here are the Jacqueline Winspear books in order for her Maisie Dobbs historical mystery series.

Maisie Dobbs Series

  1. Maisie Dobbs (Maisie Dobbs #1), 2003
  2. Birds of a Feather (Maisie Dobbs #2), 2004
  3. Pardonable Lies (Maisie Dobbs #3), 2005
  4. Messenger of Truth (Maisie Dobbs #4), 2006
  5. An Incomplete Revenge (Maisie Dobbs #5), 2008
  6. Among the Mad (Maisie Dobbs #6), 2009
  7. The Mapping of Love and Death (Maisie Dobbs #7), 2010
  8. A Lesson in Secrets (Maisie Dobbs #8), 2011
  9. Elegy for Eddie (Maisie Dobbs #9), 2012
  10. Leaving Everything Most Loved (Maisie Dobbs #10), 2013
  11. A Dangerous Place (Maisie Dobbs #11), 2015
  12. Journey to Munich (Maisie Dobbs #12), 2016
  13. In This Grave Hour (Maisie Dobbs #13), 2017
  14. To Die But Once (Maisie Dobbs #14), 2014
  15. The American Agent (Maisie Dobbs #15), 2019

About The Author

Jacqueline Winspear author of Maisey Dobbs seriesJacqueline Windspear (website) was born in 1955 in a small village in Kent, United Kingdom, where she grew up.

After graduating from the University of London’s Institute of Education, since the teaching market was flooded, she started working as a flight attendant as she wanted to see the world.

Next she took sales and marketing jobs in the fields of academic publishing, higher education and marketing communications.

In 1990 she moved to the US, where she began working as a professional and personal coach. It was during this time that she became again interested in writing books (her childhood dream), and the topic of WWI became a natural choice since Jacqueline’s grandfather had fought and was severely wounded in that horrible war.

The author has also written several articles in women’s magazines on topics evolving around international education.

She is currently living in the San Francisco Bay Area, however she takes often trips to the UK each year, where she visits her parents in Sussex.

Jacqueline Winspear is now a full time author.

The first book in the Maisie Dobbs series became a national bestseller and received several awards and accolades, including New York Times Notable Book 2003, a BookSense Top Ten selection, a Publishers Weekly Top Ten Mystery 2003, the prestigious Agatha Award for Best First novel, the Macavity Award for Best First Novel, and the Alex award.

It was also nominated for seven awards, among them including the Edgar for Best Novel.

The next books in the series also received award nominations and were well received by critics and readers alike.


Spread the love
  • 8

5 Responses to “Jacqueline Winspear Books In Order”

Read below or add a comment...

  1. Roberta Barger says:

    This is a wonderful series. I have enjoyed Maisie as a character; she is admirable, complex, caring, brave, intelligent, vulnerable, and strong. She is not perfect just like all of us. I would love to have her as my friend. Thank you for creating such a marvelous character and for letting me join her through a period of history that I only knew about from high school history. I have learned so much about the role that women played during war times and it has made me so proud of them. You, Miss Winspear, have done so much research that you made those periods of history come alive for your readers. Thank you.

  2. judy f moss says:

    What a terrific series. I wish I had read them in order!

  3. Libby Eckenrod says:

    Love these books. I have all of them up to American Agent.
    When is the next one due, soon I hope.

  4. Julie S. says:

    A Dangerous Place begins by telling about her marrying James.

  5. Dottie Donahue says:

    I think I read one book out of sequence. In which book does Maisie marry?

Leave A Comment...