Gillian Flynn Books In Order

Gillian Flynn (website) is the author of Gone Girl, a widely acclaimed novel which has been made into a movie recently.

The author was born in 1971, in Kansas City, Missouri. With both her parents being academics (working as community college professors), she had plenty of inspiration to start her writing career as an adult.

She majored in English and journalism at the at the University of Kansas college. After graduating from college, she moved to California where she took up writing for a trade magazine. Moving to Chicago, she enrolled at the Northwestern University and got her master’s degree in journalism.

Later she moved to New York City where she wrote for Entertainment Weekly for 10 years before focusing all her energy into writing books. Her first novel, Sharp Objects was published in 2006 and it centers on a journalist working for a small newspaper who was recently released from the mental hospital.

In 2009 Jillian Flynn released her second novel, Dark Places, which ended up ranking at #15 on the New York Times Bestseller’s list. The book was turned into a movie in 2015 featuring Charlize Theron. 

Gone Girl, her third novel has also been adapted to the big screen in 2014 featuring Ben Affleck and Rosamund Pike in main roles.

Her latest book, The Grownup has been released in 2015. It is a short story initially featured in  George R. R. Martin’s Rogues anthology, under the title What Do You Do?

Here are the Gillian Flynn books in order for her standalone novels.

Standalone Novels By Gillian Flynn

Sharp Objects, 2006

Dark Places, 2009

Gone Girl, 2012

The Grownup, 2015

Like these books

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *