Gilbert Adair Books In Order

Gilbert Adair (1944-2011) wrote several works of fiction, including an Agatha Christie copycat series called Evadne Mount Trilogy. I’ve read the trilogy and at some point, I really thought I was reading one of Agatha Christie’s books. It was uncannily similar in style. Reading the Gilbert Adair books in order means picking up the three books the author has written so far.

Born in 1944 in Edinburgh, Gilbert Adair lived several years in Paris, while during the last few years of his life he moved to London.

The author was a self-defined homosexual, although he preferred to keep quiet about it. In one of the later interviews, he mentioned: “Obviously there are gay themes in a lot of my novels,” he said in a recent interview, “but I really wouldn’t be happy to be thought of as a ‘Gay Writer’ … Being gay hasn’t defined my life.”

Several of his books won awards, and his book Love and Death on Long Island has been made into a film with the same title. His book The Holy Innocents has also been turned into a movie based on a script he wrote.

His last work, which has not been finished due to his death was a stage version of his earlier work  Love and Death on Long Island. The author died due to a brain aneurysm following an earlier stroke one year earlier.

Very well written, I can highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys the classic whodunit mysteries involving a bit of fun, light reading, and of course, solving the murder mystery in Agatha Christie fashion.

Evadne Mount Trilogy In Order

The Act of Roger Murgatroyd, 2006

A Mysterious Affair of Style, 2008

And Then There Was No One, 2009

Mystery Sequels >> Mystery Authors >> Gilbert Adair Books in Order

Spread the love

Leave A Comment...