Vince Flynn Books in Order


Reading the Vince Flynn books in order ends with The Last Man, the very last book the author has written before passing away in 2013. The Mitch Rapp series has been in the meantime continued by Kyle Mills, who has written three additional novels to the series. Having read the books written by both authors, I recommend not stopping at The Last Man, but also check out Kyle Mills’ work. He is a worthy successor to our favorite political thriller author.

Vince FlynnVince Flynn was born in 1966 in Saint Paul, Minnesota as the fifth of seven children. In 1984 he graduated from  Saint Thomas Academy, and in 1988 he graduated from the University of St. Thomas with a degree in economics.

Once he left school, he started working for Kraft Foods, in the position of sales and marketing specialist. I found this information quite interesting, as I also worked for a competitor of Kraft Foods, for Unilever, in a very similar position for several years. Of course, I couldn’t have met the author since I was living in Europe at the time.

Vince Flynn worked at Kraft Foods Company until 1990, when he switched careers with the intention to become a pilot with the United States Marine Corps. Sadly, due to the author being diagnosed with concussions and convulsive seizures which he experienced while growing up, he was disqualified from the Marine Aviation Program just one week prior to him leaving for Officer Candidate School, which is a training program that aims to evaluate potential Marine Corps Officers.

The author had also dyslexia. Back in the day, there was not all that much information about dyslexia, but Vince Flynn was trying to overcome it by keeping a strict daily regimen of reading and writing. During this time he fell in love with books and decided to become a writer as well.

In the meantime, to pay his bills, and since he could no longer work with the Marine Corps, he went to work at United Properties as a commercial real estate leasing agent, a job which could turn out to be quite a lucrative for him.

Eventually, he quit his job, moved to Colorado and started writing books full time. He wrote and published on his own his debut novel, Term Limits. The hardcover edition of the book was eventually published by Pocket Books, which is part of the Simon & Schuster publishing company. The book was featured on the New York Times bestseller list for several weeks.

He very much wanted to continue writing books, especially since several of his first novels, including Transfer of Power, The Third Option, and Separation of Power were all on the NYT bestseller list.

In 2010, Vince Flynn was diagnosed with a rare form of prostate cancer. While getting treatment, he continued to write his bestselling novels. Over the years, he wrote 14 books, out of which 13 are part of his popular Mitch Rapp series. The last book that he was working on, which he couldn’t complete before his demise The Survivor (he only managed to write the first few chapters),  was eventually completed by Kyle Mills, who has, in the meantime, written two additional Mitch Rapp books, with the latest, Enemy of State, being published in 2017. Kyle Mills was asked to finish The Survivor, and write two new Mitch Rapp books by Vince Flynn’s estate and by Simon & Schuster.

If you are reading the Vince Flynn books in order, it is well-worth picking up the Kyle Mills books as well. I have read them and, honestly, I haven’t found a major difference in the writing style between the two authors. Kyle Mills definitely knows how to bring the Mitch Rapp series justice.

One of the things Kyle Mills did was to actually read the Mitch Rapp series in chronological order for all the books and write no less than 150 pages of notes about the author’s style, characters, and words mostly used.

In an interview, Kyle Mills said,

As a Vince Flynn fan, you come to know and love that character. As an author, you need to create that. I’d hate to pick up a Mitch Rapp (book) and not have it feel authentic.

Vince Flynn’s books are quite accurate. In fact, George W. Bush mentioned once about the author that in his books he was coming too close to the real truth as to how the CIA was operating around the world.

The author mentioned in an interview that his books are “entertainment, educational and serve as cautionary tales.”

The first book in the Mitch Rapp series is Transfer of Power, which is actually the author’s second book written.

Vince Flynn’s books were sold more than 15 million books in the U.S alone. Two ex-presidents, George W. Bush and Bill Clinton were among his serious fans.

Before dying, Vince Flynn was living with his wife, Lysa, and their three children in St. Paul in Minneapolis. The author died in 2013 after a difficult two-year battle with his cancer which has metastasized in the meantime.

Here are the Vince Flynn and Kyle Mills books in order for the Mitch Rapp series, of course with also adding the author’s first book, where Mitch Rapp didn’t feature at all.

Mitch Rapp Series in Order

1. American Assassin, 2010

2. Kill Shot, 2012

3. Transfer of Power, 1999

4. The Third Option, 2000

5. Separation Of Power , 2001

6. Executive Power , 2002

7. Memorial Day , 2004

8. Consent to Kill, 2005

9. Act of Treason, 2006

10. Protect and Defend, 2007

11. Extreme Measures, 2008

12. Pursuit of Honour, 2009

13. The Last Man, 2012

14. The Survivor, 2014 (written by Kyle Mills)

15. Order to Kill, 2016 (written by Kyle Mills)

16. Enemy of the State, 2017 (written by Kyle Mills)

Other Books by Vince Flynn

Term Limits, 1997

Share on Facebook6Share on Google+0Pin on Pinterest1Tweet about this on TwitterShare on StumbleUpon1

Leave A Comment...