NoirCON 2016 – If You Love All Things Noir

Noir CON 2016

Noir crime fiction has a huge following with authors tending to this dark and gritty genre with best sellers after best sellers, and readers gulping up everything they can get their hands on. Noir is big, and NoirCON is the place to be to meet like minded people and get all the latest scoop on the genre. NoirCON has its origins in 2007, having the first appearance in Philadelphia, PA. It started as a gathering to celebrate the life and work of David Goodis, the city’s best known noir fiction writer. Over the years the event widened its scope to encompass discussions not […] Read more »

The Craft of Good Writing: A Masterclass With SJ Watson and Lisa Jewell

s.j. watson

If I were a book author, I would attend The Craft of Good Writing masterclass held at The Guardian premises in the UK early next year without a second thought. Especially since one of my favorite mystery authors, S.J. Watson is giving the interview, along with Lisa Jewell, a popular chick lit fiction author. S.J. Watson has only published two books so far, but boy his debut novel is one popular book. It is the very same book which sparked the 2015 the same title adaption movie featuring Nicole Kidman and Colin Firth. A well worth read and a great movie […] Read more »

Murder In The Court – The 2015 Ngaio Marsh Award Winner Revealed

Ngaio Marsh award

On October 4 this year the whodunit and who-won-it will be revealed at an entertaining event at The Court Theatre organized by Ngaio Marsh Award, WORD Christchurch and The Press. This year’s event which will begin at 5 pm will include the following interesting activities: an improvised murder mystery on the spot by The Court Jesters, chapters read from the finalists books, an opportunity to mingle with the finalists, and of course, the name of the winner revealed. The winner will receive the Ngaio Marsh Award trophy, a set of Dame Ngaio’s novels courtesy of her publisher HarperCollins, along with a cash prize […] Read more »

CWA Dagger in the Library Award For 2015 Longlisted Authors

CWA Dagger award 2015

This month 11 authors have been longlisted for the CWA Dagger In The Library Award, which recognizes authors overall contributions to the genre, rather than specific titles of said authors. The shortlist will be decided and revealed on Monday June 8 by Sharon Bolton (previous finalist), Lucy Santos (CWA director) and a group of UK librarians. The winner will be revealed at the CWA Annual Awards dinner on 30th June. There were over 2,844 people who voted for 636 great authors, and the the nominees for the shortlist are: Mark Billingham Ann Cleeves Christopher Fowler Elly Griffiths Elizabeth Haynes Susan Hill Peter James Simon Kernick […] Read more »

CrimeFest 2015 – I Wish I Could Attend

Crimefest convention 2015

This year’s CrimeFest convention is held between 14-17th of May in Bristol, UK. The convention is attended by people who love reading mystery books either as a leisure hobby, or who are die-hard fanatics. In includes interviews with guest authors and several panels (apparently more than 40) with over 150 authors that will take be present, for a total of over 400 writers, agents, publishers and crime fiction fans coming from all over the world. I am especially intrigued this year as one of my favorite authors, Lee Child (the author of the Jack Reacher series) will be present, to be interviewing […] Read more »

The 2015 Petrona Award Nominees Shortlist Announced

petrona awards

Just a few days ago the latest Petrona Award Shortlist was announced for 2015 with some great authors and titles nominated. The Petrona Award is relatively new, having been established recently after the death of Maxine Clarke in 2012, the popular blogger focusing mostly on Scandinavian crime fiction. The award celebration has been started to honor ‘Petrona’, the name under which Maxine was known online by book readers, authors and fellow bloggers. This year 6 crime novels from various Scandinavian countries, including Finland, Sweden, Norway and Iceland have been nominated, with the winner to be revealed at the annual international crime fiction event […] Read more »

2015 Ngaio Marsh Award Longlist For Best Crime Novel

Ngaio Marsh 2015 longlist

Started by Craig Sisterson in 2010 The Ngaio Marsh Award has been presented every year since then to crime and mystery authors in New Zealand. The award is usually held during the Christchurch Winter Festival. I enjoy following this awards event as it exposes me to new crime, mystery and thriller authors which I might not have heard about otherwise. Certainly some of these authors won’t make the US ‘best’ lists, which is a pity, so I never miss learning about the authors – not only who won, but all the nominees. The longlist for 2015 has just been announced. Here are […] Read more »

The Specsavers Crime Thriller Awards 2014 Winners Announced

specsavers crime thriller awards 2014

This year The Specsavers Crime Thriller Awards were given out at the Grosvenor House Hotel in London on the 24th of October, yesterday. Hosted by Bradley Walsh, the event drew in lots of great mystery and thriller authors, actors, actresses, producers and directors in a very glamorous setting. The ceremony enters its 7th successive year, in collaboration with Specsavers and ITV. Each year 11 awards will be given to authors, actors and actresses, in honor of best in books, TV and film in the much loved genre. Here are the winners for the events in the various categories for 2014: Keeley Hawes […] Read more »