MWA Announces the 2018 Grand Masters

Edgar Allan Poe Awards

Mystery Writers of America (MWA) has released the Grandmaster Award list for 2018. The Grandmaster Award is given to authors recognized for their invaluable contribution to the crime, mystery genre, who have a constant high-quality writing. The three Grandmasters chosen for 2018 are Jane Langton, William Link, and Peter Lovesey. They will receive their awards on April 26, 2018, at the  72nd Annual Edgar Awards Banquet held at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in New York City. Jane Langton is a popular mystery writer and illustrator, with a career of over 40 years. Several of her books have been nominated for various awards. Her book […] Read more »

Winners of the 2017 Davitt Awards

Davitt Awards 2017

The Davitt Awards are presented each year to women crime writers in Australia. This year the judges had their hands full reading nearly 100 novels, some of which have been written by debut authors. That’s quite a huge number for a monumental task! The 2017 awards have been presented by Hilary Bonney, a  true crime writer, barrister, and television producer, at Melbourne’s Thornbury Theatre on Saturday 26 August, 7 pm during a gala’s dinner. While there are no monetary prizes offered for this award, what the winners get are some beautifully carved polished wooded trophies. The Davitts Award has been named after Ellen Davitt, […] Read more »

The McIlvanney Prize Award Longlist Announced For 2016


The 2016 McIlvanney Prize Award longlist for Scottish crime mystery books for 2016 has just been released at the Bloody Scotland International Crime Writing festival. This year’s festival is the first one since the death of the popular Scottish author, also known as the father of Scottish mystery genre called “Tartan Noir”. The author died in 2015 and he is best known for his Jack Laidlaw series. The Bloody Scotland International Crime Writing festival will take place in the town of Stirling between September 9-11, when the  McIlvanney Prize (previously known as the Scottish Crime Book of the Year) will be awarded to one of the 10 […] Read more »

The Specsavers Crime Thriller Awards 2014 Winners Announced

specsavers crime thriller awards 2014

This year The Specsavers Crime Thriller Awards were given out at the Grosvenor House Hotel in London on the 24th of October, yesterday. Hosted by Bradley Walsh, the event drew in lots of great mystery and thriller authors, actors, actresses, producers and directors in a very glamorous setting. The ceremony enters its 7th successive year, in collaboration with Specsavers and ITV. Each year 11 awards will be given to authors, actors and actresses, in honor of best in books, TV and film in the much loved genre. Here are the winners for the events in the various categories for 2014: Keeley Hawes […] Read more »