by Sandra Brown

published 1998

Check Best Prices  Amazon com

Amazon uk

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases

Convicted killer Carl Herbold’s escape from prison sets into motion two seemingly unrelated events: the reopening of an unsolved murder case, and the unheralded arrival of drifter Jack Sawyer at an East Texas cattle ranch, home to Anna Corbett, a deaf widow, her young son, and her father-in-law.

As Carl gets murderously closer to his ultimate destination, it becomes clear that the one who holds the key to Anna’s self-imposed silence and the mystery that connects them all is the apparent stranger — Jack Sawyer.

Carl Herbold is a cold-blooded psychopath who has just escaped the penitentiary where he was serving a life sentence. Bent on revenge, he’s going back to where he began–Blewer County, Texas…

Born deaf, lately widowed, Anna Corbett fights to keep the ranch that is her son’s birthright, unaware that she is at the center of Herbold’s horrific scheme–and that her world of self-imposed isolation is about to explode…

Drifter Jack Sawyer arrives at Anna’s ranch asking for work, hoping to protect the innocent woman and her son from Herbold’s rage. But Sawyer can’t outrun the secrets that stalk him–or the day of reckoning awaiting them all…