Robert Masello Books In Order

Robert Masello is an American author well known for his historical/supernatural thrillers with titles such as The Romanov Cross, The Medusa Amulet, Vigil and Bestiary among others.

Here are all the books by Robert Masello in order of publication. With the exception of Vigil and Bestiary which are part of the Carter Cox series, the rest of the books are all standalone novels, so there is no particular reading order required.

Robert Masello Books In Order Of Publication

Non-Fiction Books By Robert Masello

  • What Do Men Want from Women?, 1983
  • Of Course I Love You, 1993
  • Fallen angels… and spirits of the dark, 1994 (occult)
  • The Things your father never taught you, 1995
  • Raising Hell: A Concise History of the Black Arts – and Those Who Dared to Practice Them, 1996 (occult)
  • A Friend in the Business: Honest Advice for Anyone Trying to Break into Television Writing, 2000
  • Writer Tells All: Insider Secrets to Getting Your Book Published, 2001
  • Robert’s Rules of Writing: 101 Unconventional Lessons Every Writer Needs to Know, 2005

[the_ad id=”11397″]
Born in Evanston, Illinois, Robert Masello studied writing at Princeton University. Over the years, he held various lecturing positions at universities, including the Visiting Lecturer in Literature at Claremont McKenna College between 2002-2008.

He also lectured at several other universities such as the University of California at Irvine, UCLA Extension, Pace University, Chapman University, Whittier College, the New York University Publishing Program and the Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism.

author Robert MaselloCurrently, Robert Masello lives in Santa Monica, California, where he also writes his books. His latest fiction novel is The Jekyll Revelation, published in 2016. The author also writes non-fiction books on the art and business of writing, relationships, along with studies on the black magic and the occult.

He is also a journalist who writes articles, expositions and reviews for prominent magazines and other publications such as New York, The Los Angeles Times, The Washington Post, Town and Country, Travel and Leisure,Elle, People, Cosmopolitan, Glamour, Harper’s Bazaar, TV Guide, Men’s Journal, Publisher’s Weekly, Westways, The Wilson Quarterly, Newsday, The Chicago Tribune, and Redbook.

Robert Masello has also produced several TV shows including “Charmed,” “Sliders,” “Poltergeist: the Legacy,” and “Early Edition” for CBS, Fox, USA, and Showtime.

I got introduced to the work of Robert Masello while reading The Order of the Sanguines series by James Rollins. While their writing styles are very different, they do tackle quite often the same types of occult thriller stories that keep you on the edge of your seat pretty much throughout your journey.

Most of the Robert Masello books are historical thrillers with a touch (a great touch) of paranormal. The Medusa Amulet is set in the  Italian Renaissance period and there we meet the well-known sculptor Benvenuto Cellini. The Romanov Cross features the decline of the Russian dynasty, while The Einstein Prophecy is about… Einstein, of course. For The Jekyll Revelation, the author got the idea through two more or less simultaneous events in history: the staging of the famous play, The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, and Jack the Ripper’s first appearance and killing.

In The Jekyll Revelation, environmental scientist Rafael Salazar discovers a strange and old trunk which contains a flask of elixir and journal by Robert Louis Stevenson. In the journal, RLS wrote about the real story of  The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, some strange elixir and some very strange happenings. The elixir itself is still potent even after over 100 years of being tucked away for posterity.

As usual with the Robert Masello books, there are two threads intertwining: a story set in the past and one set in the present. The elixir has a very strong effect on Stevenson, which makes him see and experience strange things. Soon after, the two-faced person is created. And then let’s not forget about Jack the Ripper, because he features in the book (in the past storyline) as well.

Before writing his books, the author is always doing a thorough search for each of the personalities he ends up depicting in his novels and more often than not, he manages to come up with quite a unique angle for his main characters.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *