The Last Move by Mary Burton

The Last Move by Mary Burton

The Last Move is the latest standalone romantic-suspense thriller by the popular author Mary Burton. It focuses on Theo Mazur, a veteran detective who moved from Chicago to San Antonio to be near his daughter, and Kate Hayden, an FBI agent who has just found the latest victim of a vicious serial killer. Thankfully, the victim was still alive. Theo loves his job at Chicago, but when his ex-wife decides to move to San Antonio to advance her career, he has no choice but to transfer from Chicago to San Antonio. He has to go even if means he’ll start at […] Read more »

The Hangman by Mary Burton (The Forgotten Files #3)

Mary Burton Hangman

The Hangman is the third book in The Forgotten Files series by the romantic suspense author Mary Burton. As in the previous two novels, this latest installment also deal with two new main characters, which means that reading the series in order is not required for any character development continuity. Tobias Novak is a homicide detective, who is called to an abandoned home to investigate a fire which unearthed the skeletons of a young woman forgotten in the basement for over a quarter of a century. Among the victim’s possessions, there is also an old photo of a very young […] Read more »

The Dollmaker by Mary Burton (The Forgotten Files #2)

The Dollmaker by Mary Burton

While reading the Mary Burton books in order, we continue with The Dollmaker, where we meet Dr. Tessa McGowan, a forensic pathologist, who has recently returned from working abroad to find the strangest case on her table: the mutilated body of a woman who was made to look like a real-life doll. Dakota Sharp, a Virginia State Police Detective is Tessa’s ex-husband and is the one who caught the strange case. It seems that there is a serial killer on the loose who kidnaps women, tortures them, tattoos them all over and leaves them in places the where they can be easily […] Read more »

The Shark By Mary Burton (The Forgotten Files #1)

The Shark by Mary Burton

The Mary Burton books in order continue here with a new series called The Forgotten Files, which began in 2016. The first book, The Shark, starts with a bang. Riley Tatum, a Virginia state trooper, while walking her dog, Cooper, stumbles upon a murdered prostitute who happens to look eerily similar to her. Riley is a woman with a dark past who worked very hard to leave it all behind. As a teenager, she ran away from home because her stepfather was getting way too cozy with her. During her time on the streets, she experienced something over 7 days […] Read more »

Vulnerable by Mary Burton (Morgans of Nashville #4)

Vulnerable by Mary Burton

Vulnerable is the latest novel in the Morgans of Nashville romantic suspense series by the popular author Mary Burton. I’ve been reading her books for the last 10 years, ever since I’m Watching You dropped into my hands. I was hooked and soon Mary Burton became one of my favorite romantic suspense authors, reading her books as fast as she published them. As usual in most romantic suspense series, each book focuses on another member of a group or family. In this case, it’s all about the Morgans – the Morgan family. In Vulnerable, the 4th book in the series, […] Read more »