The Lost City of the Monkey God by Douglas Preston

The Lost City of the Monkey God

The Lost City of the Monkey God is the first non-fiction book I’ve read by Douglas Preston. I love his Special Agent Pendergast series co-authored with Lincoln Child, but I was not sure what to expect from a real-life account story. The book turned out to be just as interesting as everything else Preston has written so far. The story is about a lost – almost mythological – city called La Ciudad Blanca (the White City). After decades of fruitless searches by other archaeological teams, Douglas Preston decided that he would go on the search as well. So he embarked on an […] Read more »

Obsidian Chamber by Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child (Pendergast #16)

The Obsidian Chamber by Douglas Preston Lincoln Child

The latest book in the Pendergast thriller series by Douglas Preston & Lincoln Child, The Obsidian Chamber, continues where Crimson Shore ended in its storyline, picking up the thread a few months after the happenings at Exmouth, in Massachusetts. I need to warn you that here will be spoilers involving Crimson Shore, so make sure to read it before reading this review, unless you don’t care about spoilers. So Crimson Shore left its readers flummoxed, flabbergasted and utterly confused, not to mention with their hearts up in their throats when the book ended. Pendergast has disappeared, there is no sign of him, and […] Read more »

Beyond the Ice Limit By Douglas Preston & Lincoln Child (Gideon Crew #4)

Beyond the Ice Limit

Beyond The Ice Limit is the latest installment in the Gideon Crew series by the prolific author duo Douglas Preston & Lincoln Child. It is also their latest book written to date. I think the main reason I got excited for this book (well, except for the obvious, that it IS written by two of my most favorite authors ever) is the fact that it is also a sequel to The Ice Limit, a novel that the authors have written some 15 years ago as a standalone. So many readers have asked for a sequel, wanted to know just what happened with Eli Glinn […] Read more »

Crimson Shore by Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child (Pendergast #15)

Crimson Shore Pendergast Preston Child

The 15th book in the acclaimed Pendergast thriller series by the author duo Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child, called Crimson Shore, delivered everything we’ve come to expect from the series and left us wanting for more. Special Agent Pendergast does not do freelance work involving private cases and he is very clear about that. However even he must break his own rule when a Mr. Lake pays him a visit and tells him a seemingly bland – yet increasingly interesting story. Mr. Lake’s wine collection has been stolen from his cellar, a collection worth tenths of thousands of dollar and he wants […] Read more »

Blue Labyrinth by Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child (Pendergast #14)

Blue Labyrinth by Douglas Preston & Lincoln Child

Blue Labyrinth is the 14th book in one of my favorite thriller series ever, featuring Special Agent Pendergast. I got hooked on this series when I read the first book, Relic, many years ago. It was something out of this world, it was so good. The second book, Reliquary was just as good, and the third offering in the series, Cabinet of Curiosities, was close to the greatness of the previous two novels. And then something happened. The next 10 books were great reads, but I never again had that feeling of total enjoyment that I initially had when I […] Read more »

Extraction by Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child (Pendergast #12.5)

Extraction by Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child

Extraction is a short novella in the Special Agent Pendergast series by the famous author duo Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child. It is #12.5 in the series and comes right before White Fire, a book that I have reviewed here not so long ago. As the book is less than 50 pages, I read it within 10 minutes or so. Despite the fact that it is such a short novel, the plot is really well tided up with no loose ends, and without feeling that the book was incomplete, as it is so often the case with short novellas in […] Read more »

White Fire by Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child (Pendergast #13)

White Fire

While perusing the virtual shelves at NetGalley, I saw the book White Fire by Douglas Preston & Lincoln Child, the 13th in the Pendergast series in order, and I clicked on the ‘Request’ button without a hesitation. This author duo is one of my favorites in the mystery genre. Ever since I read Relic, Reliquary and Cabinet of Curiosities I was literally hooked, and from my first contact with their writings, I devoured everything else they’ve written together in the Pendergast series, along with each author’s stand-alone novels as well. Special Agent Aloysius Pendergast is an interesting, complex and very original/intriguing […] Read more »