Nevada Barr Books In Order

Last Updated on August 27, 2020 Nevada Barr is an American author best known for her Anna Pigeon mystery series, which currently includes 18 books. While many people consider Anna Pigeon to be a cozy series, in my opinion, it is not at all. It is truly a mystery with some dark elements (some of the descriptions are far from anything a cozy would offer), which even lead me to say some of her books are actually thrillers.

The series was born out of the author’s love for the outdoors (having been a park ranger for some time herself) and love of the written word. Each Anna Pigeon novel is set in a different National Park.

Here is the list of Nevada Barr books in order for her Anna Pigeon series and her standalone non-fiction and fiction books.

Anna Pigeon Books In Order

  1. Track of the Cat (Anna Pigeon #1), 1993
  2. A Superior Death> (Anna Pigeon #2), 1994
  3. Ill Wind (Anna Pigeon #3), 1995
  4. Firestorm (Anna Pigeon #4), 1996
  5. Endangered Species (Anna Pigeon #5), 1997
  6. Blind Descent (Anna Pigeon #6), 1998
  7. Liberty Falling (Anna Pigeon #7), 1999
  8. Deep South (Anna Pigeon #8), 2000
  9. Blood Lure (Anna Pigeon #9), 2001
  10. Hunting Season (Anna Pigeon #10), 2002
  11. Flashback (Anna Pigeon #11), 2003
  12. High Country (Anna Pigeon #12), 2004
  13. Hard Truth (Anna Pigeon #13), 2005
  14. Winter Study (Anna Pigeon #14), 2008
  15. Borderline (Anna Pigeon #15), 2009
  16. Burn (Anna Pigeon #16), 2010
  17. The Rope (Anna Pigeon #17), 2012
  18. Destroyer (Anna Pigeon #18), 2014
  19. Boar Island (Anna Pigeon #19), 2016

Other Books by Nevada Barr

  • Bittersweet, 1984 (romance/western)
  • Seeking Enlightenment Hat by Hat, 2003 (non-fiction biography)
  • Deadly Housewives, 2006  (short story in a mystery compilation about housewives solving – or committing crimes)
  • 13 1/2, 2009 (standalone thriller)
  • Summer and Smoke and Murder (novella), 2011
  • What Rose Forgot (standalone crime thriller), 2019

About Nevada Barr

Born in 1952 in Yerington, Nevada, her family moved to Johnstonville, California where she grew up. Even though her first name is the same with the state she was born in, the name was actually given to her based on a character in a book her dad loved.

She attended and graduated from the  University of California, Irvin, earning her MA degree in acting. Before writing books, she spent her next 20 years working in film, theater, commercials and even doing voice over for radio.

Growing fond of environmentalism, she started working in various National Parks during the summers, while she also took on several other odd jobs, including that of travel writer, boat patrol/park ranger, storytelling teacher and restaurant critic. At the same time during the winter she would resume her acting work.

Soon, however, by the age of 40 Nevada Barr left her acting career behind and became a park ranger full time. She got her law enforcement designation status and her Emergency Medical Technician training and became an official with a real gun.

She got her first book, Bittesweet, published in 1984. The first Anna Pigeon novel came some 10 years later during the summer the author worked in west Texas. Track of the Cat, the first book in the series won right away two awards – the Agatha, as well as the Anthony awards for best first mysteries.

In one interview she mentioned that in her books she wrote about each park she has actually worked at, so the first Anna Pigeon books are based on places the author has worked at. For the next books, she did some serious research and got to spend a few weeks at each new park just to get the layout and hang of each place.

The latest Anna Pigeon book by Nevada Barr is called What Rose Forgot, published in 2019 as a standalone crime mystery novel.

Spread the love
  • 7

11 Responses to “Nevada Barr Books In Order”

Read below or add a comment...

  1. Marsha Boyett says:

    Also, hoping there will be more Anna Pigeon books. Loved every single one. Have them all and now, looking for large print books that are easier on these old eyes.

  2. Christine Belanger says:

    I hope that we have another Anna Pigeon book coming. Your books are the best.

  3. Laura M Lusk says:

    I highly recommend any book written by Nevada Barr. You will find them highly entertaining and you will learn about your National Parks and the personnel who labor with love in our outdoor and indoor treasures. I have an admitted bias. I am a retired National Park Ranger myself (June. 1995-October, 2011)., who worked as an interpretive ranger in some of her mystery book settings where I gave evening programs and helped run/supervise some visitor centers.

  4. marlys says:

    the printable list is really handy for finding books to read in order

  5. Terri Sprague says:

    Really enjoy the Anna Pigeon Series, when is a new book coming out?

    • Daniel Anthony says:

      Would be great if Nevada Barr would update her fans on the status of the Anna Pigeon Series.

  6. Kay Montoya says:

    I have read several of the Anna Pigeon novels and enjoyed them. However the Boar Island one with the two plots and mysteries going on was not a good read. I enjoy one mystery a book. This kept going back and forth between the two and several times lost me. Please reconsider writing only one mystery a novel.

  7. K Stand says:

    Her latest is a stand-alone novel, “What Rose Forgot.”

  8. Christine Belanger says:

    Where are your new Anna Pigeon books? Been waiting for them.

  9. Sara Roberts says:

    Is there going to be another Anna Pigeon book,(I hope), if so when.

  10. Andrea Gazeley says:

    Love your Anna Pigeon novels! Looking forward to a new one- Good luck and thank you for your wonderful gift of writing and your love of nature!

Leave A Comment...