John Connolly Books In Order

Reading the John Connolly books in order is akin to traveling down a road filled with very disturbed, slightly supernatural, poetic and often gory and gruesome passers-by.

John Connolly (website) is the Irish author of his popular Charlie Parker supernatural crime mystery series set in Maine, US.

He was born in 1968 in Dublin, Ireland. He studied English at Trinity College, Dublin, where he got his BA, followed by an M.A. in journalism from Dublin City University.

Before becoming a full-time author, he held several odd jobs, such as being a barman, a waiter, a low-level clerk at Harrods in London, and a freelance journalist for The Irish Times newspaper, where he remained for 5 years. While no longer employed there, he still contributes articles and interviews other authors every now and then.

His work in the field of journalism was a stepping stone to his following career as a mystery author. In fact, he wrote his very first novel, Every Dead Thing (which turned out to become the first Charlie Parker book) while he was still freelancing as a journalist. The book got published in 1999, setting course to a successful career with many books to follow. It received the 2000 Shamus Award for Best First Private Eye Novel and was nominated for the Bram Stoker Award for best first novel.

John Connolly is the only non-American author to receive the Shamus Award, and the first Irish author to receive an Edgar award.

Once John Connolly fully embraced his book author career, he started writing in earnest, having written to date over 20 books included in 3 series and several standalone novels, many winning various literary awards including the Barry Award, the Agatha Award, the Anthony Award and the Edgar Award, and others being nominated for several more.

His short story, The New Daughter, included in Nocturnes, the supernatural story collection, was the base of a movie with the same title featuring Kevin Costner and Ivana Baquero.

The author is mostly known for his Charlie (Bird) Parker thriller series, featuring the ex-cop ex-PI troubled guy who has his very own demons to battle while also fighting the evil that tries to destroy the world, one person at a time. You know, those sadistic serial killers who prey on the innocent and torture them to unspeakable lows before killing them without mercy.

Interestingly enough, I first heard of this author when I’ve bought on an impulse his standalone novel The Book Of Lost Things. I was in a phase in my life when searching and reading the so-called ‘books about books’ aka bibliomysteries (e.g. cozies involving bookshops, mysteries evolving around strange books, etc.)

I truly got hooked on this author’s writing with the very first Charlie Parker book, called Every Dead Thing. I have read it several years ago, and just now recently went back to read it again along with rest of the series to eventually catch up to his latest novel, published this year called A Time Of Torment.

Here are the John Connolly books in order for his series, standalone novel and his short stories. The list will be updated with new books as the author published them.

Charlie Parker Series In Order

  1. Every Dead Thing (Charlie Parker #1), 1999 –  book review
  2. Dark Hollow (Charlie Parker #2), 2000
  3. The Killing Kind (Charlie Parker #3), 2001
  4. The White Road (Charlie Parker #4), 2002
  5. The Reflecting Eye (Charlie Parker #4.5), 2004 (included in Nocturnes)
  6. The Black Angel (Charlie Parker #5), 2005
  7. The Unquiet (Charlie Parker #6), 2007
  8. The Reapers (Charlie Parker #7), 2008
  9. The Lovers (Charlie Parker #8), 2009
  10. The Whisperers (Charlie Parker #9), 2010
  11. The Burning Soul (Charlie Parker #10), 2011
  12. The Wrath of Angels (Charlie Parker #11), 2012
  13. The Wolf in Winter (Charlie Parker #12), 2014
  14. A Song of Shadows (Charlie Parker #13), 2015
  15. A Time of Torment (Charlie Parker #14), 2016
  16. A Game of Ghosts (Charlie Parker #15), 2017
  17. The Woman in the Wood (Charlie Parker #16), 2018

Samuel Johnson Series In Order

  1. The Gates (Samuel Johnson #1), 2009
  2. Hell’s Bells (Samuel Johnson #2), 2011 (also with the title The Infernals)
  3. The Creeps (Samuel Johnson #3), 2013

The Chronicles of the Invaders Trilogy

  1. Conquest, 2013
  2. Empire, 2015
  3. Dominion, 2016

Standalone Novels / Short Stories By John Connolly

  • Bad Men, 2003
  • Nocturnes, 2004 (supernatural short story collection – also includes #4.5 in the Charlie Parker series)
  • The Inkpot Monkey – short story in Like A Charm: A Novel In Voice anthology, 2004
  • Mr. Gray’s Folly – short story in Dangerous Women, 2005
  • The Cycle – short story in Aid of the Victims of the Tsunami (under pseudonym Laura Froom), 2005
  • The Book of Lost Things, 2006
  • A Haunting – short story in Downturn Tales: Stay-Up-All-Night Stories from Your Favorite Bestselling Authors, 2008
  • Lazarus – short story in The New Dead, 2010
  • Books to Die For – non-fiction, 2012
  • The Caxton Lending Library & Book Depository – short story, 2013
  • The Wanderer in Unknown Realms – novella, 2013
  • Night Music: Nocturnes 2, 2015 (second book in the Nocturnes supernatural short story collection)
  • He, 2017 (a literary imagining of the life of the great comedian Stan Laurel)
Spread the love

2 Responses to “John Connolly Books In Order”

Read below or add a comment...

  1. Dolly says:

    Love all the books I have read so far. Just finished A Game Of Ghosts. Left me wanting more. Please don’t let anything happen to Angel or Louis. They are two of the best secondary characters I have ever read. They are right up there with Archie Goodwin.

  2. Danny Lee says:

    I love the Charlie Parker novel, I listen to them on audible books. Sad the [cut out by moderator to avoid spoilers] in your latest book “A game of ghosts”. All the characters work great in your books, I have enjoyed your latest book it is up there with “The wrath of Angels”, “The black Angel” and “The lovers”. Great writing.

    Danny Lee

Leave A Comment...


The following GDPR rules must be read and accepted:
This form collects your name, email and content so that we can keep track of the comments placed on the website. For more info check our privacy policy where you will get more info on where, how and why we store your data.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.