Jeff Abbott Books In Order

Last Updated on July 8, 2021  Jeff Abbott is the bestselling author of the Sam Capra series (it is his most popular series), his Whit Mosley series, as well as his Jordan Poteet series, along with the author’s standalone novels.

Here are the Jeff Abbott books in order for his popular series, as well as his standalone novels for adults and teens.

New Jeff Abbott Book

An Ambush of Widows
An Ambush of Widows, 2021

Sam Capra Series In Order

The Sam Capra series features a CIA agent who is also a loving husband and soon to be a father. That’s until he literally loses everything, which will define who he becomes in the series.

  1. Adrenaline (Sam Capra #1), 2010
  2. Sam Capra’s Last Chance (Sam Capra #1.5), 2012
  3. The Last Minute (Sam Capra #2), 2011
  4. Downfall (Sam Capra #3), 2013
  5. Inside Man (Sam Capra #4), 2014
  6. The First Order (Sam Capra #5), 2016

Whit Mosley Series In Order

Whit Mosley series features an unconventional rookie Gulf Coast judge in Texas.

  1. A Kiss Gone Bad (Whit Mosley #1), 2001
  2. Black Jack Point (Whit Mosley #2), 2002
  3. Cut and Run (Whit Mosley #3), 2003

Jordan Poteet Mystery Series In Order

The Jordan Poteet Mystery series is, in fact, his oldest series written back in the mid-1990s. The series features Jordan, a small-town librarian in Mirabeau, Texas and the series has the more traditional mystery approach.

  1. Do Unto Others (Jordan Poteet #1), 1994
  2. Only Good Yankee (Jordan Poteet #2), 1995
  3. Promises of Home (Jordan Poteet #3), 1996
  4. Distant Blood (Jordan Poteet #4), 1996

Standalone Jeff Abbott Books

About Jeff Abbott

Jeff Abbott Author

Jeff Abbott is an American mystery writer with almost 20 novels published to date. Born in 1963, the author graduated from Rice University with a degree in History and English. The author is currently living in Austin, Texas with his two sons and his wife, where he is a full-time writer.

Jeff got his writing inspiration initially from his grandparents, two Southern-style storytellers. He wrote his first novel while in high-school, a handwritten set of 500 pages, which the author considers “horrible”.

While he never really studied writing in courses or classes, he became serious about being a writer in 1992.

His first book published, Do Unto Others, came out two years later, in 1994, and it won several awards which prompted him to start writing more. The debut book became the first in the Jordan Poteet series. It features Jordan, a guy living in the big city who wants to retire to a quieter area. Thus he moves to Mirabeau, Texas and becomes a local librarian. There he butts heads with Miss Beta Harcher, a religious fanatic who can’t stop from criticizing him and his work every step of the way. When she eventually is found dead, Jordan becomes the main suspect in her murder.

While his first novels, including the Jordan Poteet series, were written in a more traditional crime detective style, with his Sam Capra series he moved onto the suspenseful and thriller genre.

Three of the Jeff Abbott books, Adrenaline, Panic, and Collision are being made into movies and are currently in script development. Possibly his most popular book to date, Adrenaline, the first book in the Sam Capra series, was a Summer Great Reads choice by both The Today Show and Good Morning America and was included in Amazon’s list of Best Books of the Month in July 2011.

Over the years, his books have accumulated several awards, including the Agatha Award and the Macavity Award for Do Unto Others, and Thriller Award for his book Panic. Inside Man was chosen as a summer book pick by the  Oprah  Magazine.

The First Order

While most authors’ main characters are at the peak (or decline) of their careers, Jeff Abbot created Sam Capra as being still a rookie, in his mid-20s, still rather green behind his ears. The author admits that it was a conscious decision on his part. Being so young as he is, Sam is still learning and forging his own path in the world.  Sam Capra first appears in Adrenaline, the first book in the series.

In book #5, The First Order, Sam is searching for the truth about his brother, Danny, whom the entire family believed dead. But is he really as dead as a doornail? At the same time, there is a hit on the Russian leader for $20 million. But how are these two different plotlines converging?

For this particular book, the author had to research a lot about Russia, the ex-KGB agents now billionaires and the role of the Russian president.

Throughout his work, the author takes inspiration from the world events in our times and depicts everyday people who are thrown into life-threatening situation surrounded by danger and all sorts of hazard to make the books entertaining and edge-of-your-seat reading.

Blame, published in 2017, is a standalone psychological thriller novel set
in the fictional Lakehaven, which is a richer part of Austin, which centers around Jane Norton who, after a car crash involving a town’s darling, David, she suffered severe memory loss and can’t remember anything from before the accident. The book is not the usual amnesia thriller, however. It has some really interesting plot twists that I didn’t see coming.

It is interesting to note that the author himself, Jeff Abbott, lives in an affluent suburb of Austin. The two – fiction and real – settings are some things in common, like the geographical hills locations, and the relative comfort of the American suburbian lifestyle.

The new Jeff Abbott book is titled The Three Beths, another psychological thriller released in 2018 featuring the strange dynamics between family members.

The author initially got his idea for the story through two different concepts that came together in his mind: one when a family member is thought to be guilty of someone disappearing, while the police pretty much knows but can’t really prove it, and the second, when how does it feel to a daughter who has to defend her parent who has been accused of a crime.

Most of the Jeff Abbott books have been translated into several languages and are bestsellers in several countries, including the US, UK, Ireland, France, Germany, Portugal and Australia.

Spread the love
  • 12

Leave A Comment...