Hal Ackerman Books In Order – Complete List

Last Updated on March 29, 2024

Hal Ackerman is the author of the Harry Stein series featuring Harry Stein, a soft-boiled private investigator, once a well-known expert on cannabis, now in his 50s an employee of a product liability re-insurance firm counting shampoo bottles. It is a light and humorous detective PI series that currently has only two books.

Here are all the Hal Ackerman books in order for his Harry Stein series and his other works including plays and anthologies.

Harry Stein Books In Publication Order

  1. Stein, Stoned, 2010
  2. Stein, Stung, 2011

Other Hal Ackerman Books in Order of Publication

Hal Ackerman Biography – About the Author

Harold L. Ackerman, aka Hal Ackerman, published his first novel, Stein, Stoned, in 2011 and won with it the Lovey Award for Best First Novel.

Throughout his career, Hal Ackerman wrote not only books and screenplays but also short stories which were published in publications like North Dakota Review, New Millennium Writings, Southeast Review, Crab Creek Review, The Pinch, The Yalobusha Review, and Idaho Review.

His play, Testosterone: How Prostate Cancer Made a Man of Me, received the William Saroyan Centennial Award for Drama and got the title of Best Play at the prestigious 2011 United Solo Festival in New York.

For over 30 years, Hal Ackerman taught storytelling as a member of the faculty at the UCLA School of Theater, Film, and Television. He was also co-head of the UCLA screenwriting program until his retirement in 2015. Many of his students achieved success and received numerous awards for their works.

In addition, his 2003 book, Write Screenplays That Sell: The Ackerman Way, became a definitive guide in the field. The book had a strong impact with the various nationwide screenwriting programs, and it soon became the go-to resource for many aspiring writers who wanted to learn to write better.

The author’s short story Walk Through was added to the Southeast Review’s World’s Best Short Shorts of 2010. In addition, The Dancer Horse, another short story, was nominated for a Pushcart Prize in 2011.

Hal Ackerman’s reimagined play as Prick, won Best Script at the 2011 United Solo Festival.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *