Frankie Y Bailey Books In Order

Frankie Y. Bailey (website) is most popular for her Lizzie Stuart Mystery series, about a 38 years old African-American crime historian and amateur sleuth who solves crime after crime spanning across 5 novels written so far by the author.

Frankie Y Bailey grew up in the South in Virginia, where she learned about the Southern history and its traditions. Writing was always in her blood, but she really started to take her career as an author seriously while attending Virginia Tech where she changed her major from veterinarian to Psychology and English.

While living in Seattle she served in the U.S. Army as a food inspector. It was during this time that she started to write fiction in earnest. She wrote her first romantic suspense novel and her first mystery during this time. Those two books are still unpublished.

After she finished her dissertation in criminal justice, she started researching for her third book, which gave her the jolt to focus on mysteries from the on. When she moved to Albany, she joined a writing group where the decision was made: she would write a mystery which will end up published and hopefully a success. And the rest is history.

Since then she wrote two main series with the last book published in 2015 with the title What The Fly Saw.

You might find this series also called A Silver Dagger Mystery, and Amazon has some of the books in the series under that title.

The writer has recently started a second series called Detective Hannah McCabe, which currently includes 2 books.

Here are the Frankie Y. Bailey books in order for her novels.

Lizzie Stuart Mystery Series in Order

1. Death’s Favorite Child, 2000

2. A Dead Man’s Honor, 2001

3. Old Murders, 2003

4. You Should Have Died on Monday, 2007

5. Forty Acres and a Soggy Grave, 2011

Detective Hannah McCabe Books in Order

1. The Red Queen Dies, 2013

2. What The Fly Saw, 2015

Other Books By Frankie Y Bailey

Out of the Woodpile: Black Characters in Crime and Detective Fiction, 1991

Popular Culture, Crime, and Justice, 1997

Law Never Here: A Social History of African American Responses to Crime and Justice, 1999

Media Representations of September 11, 2003

Blood on Her Hands: The Social Construction of Women, Sexuality and Murder, 2003

Famous American Crimes and Trials, 2004

Crimes And Trials Of The Century, 2007

African American Mystery Writers: A Historical and Thematic Study, 2007

Wicked Albany: Lawlessness and Liquor in the Prohibition Era, 2009

Wicked Danville: Liquor and Lawlessness in a Southside Virginia City, 2011


Like these books

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *