Eric Van Lustbader Books In Order – Complete List of Novels

Last Updated on April 18, 2024

Eric Van Lustbader is a New York Times bestselling author popular for his action and thriller novels. Many readers best know for being one of the writers who continued the Jason Bourne series with titles such as The Bourne Legacy, The Bourne Retribution, and The Bourne Enigma.

He has written so far over 35 crime mystery and thriller novels, not counting his two fantasy series, short stories, and short story anthologies. Here are the New York Times bestselling author Eric Van Lustbader books in order for his crime, mystery, and thriller books.

Latest Eric Van Lustbarder Books

The Quantum Solution
The Quantum Solution (Evan Ryder #4), 2023

Jason Bourne Books in Order of Publication

(written by Eric Van Lustbader)

  1. The Bourne Legacy (#4), 2004
  2. The Bourne Betrayal (#5), 2007
  3. The Bourne Sanction (#6), 2008
  4. The Bourne Deception (#7), 2009
  5. The Bourne Objective (#8), 2010
  6. The Bourne Dominion (#9), 2011
  7. The Bourne Imperative (#10), 2012
  8. The Bourne Retribution (#11), 2013
  9. The Bourne Ascendancy (#12), 2014
  10. The Bourne Enigma ( #13), 2016
  11. The Bourne Initiative (#14), 2017

Sunset Warrior Books in Order of Publication

  1. The Sunset Warrior, 1977
  2. Shallows of Night, 1978
  3. Dai-San, 1978
  4. Beneath an Opal Moon, 1980
  5. Dragons on the Sea of Night, 1997

Nicholas Linnear / Ninja Cycle Books in Order of Publication

  1. The Ninja (#1), 1980
  2. The Miko ( #2), 1984
  3. White Ninja (#3), 1990
  4. The Kaisho (#4), 1993
  5. Floating City (#5), 1994
  6. Second Skin (#6), 1995
  7. The Death and Life of Nicholas Linnear (#6.5), 2014
  8. The Oligarch’s Daughter (#7), 2016

China Maroc Books in Order of Publication

  1. Jian (#1), 1985
  2. Shan (#2), 1988

Pearl Saga Books in Order of Publication

  1. The Ring of Five Dragons (#1), 2001
  2. The Veil of a Thousand Tears (#2), 2002
  3. The Cage of Nine Banestones (#3), 2003, aka Mistress of the Pearl

Testament Books / Bravo Shaw Books in Order of Publication

  1. The Testament (#1), 2006
  2. The Fallen (#2), 2017
  3. Four Dominions (#3), 2018
  4. The Sum of All Shadows (#4), 2019

Jack McClure Books / Alli Carson Books in Order of Publication

  1. First Daughter (#1), 2008
  2. Last Snow (#2), 2010
  3. Blood Trust (#3), 2011
  4. Father Night (#4), 2012
  5. Beloved Enemy (#5), 2013

Evan Ryder Books in Order of Publication

  1. The Nemesis Manifesto (#1), 2020
  2. The Kobalt Dossier (#2), 2021
  3. Omega Rules (#3), 2022
  4. The Quantum Solution (#4), 2023

Standalone Eric Van Lustbader Books

Novellas in Order of Publication

Short Stories in Order of Publication

  • In Darkness, Angels, 1983
  • The Devil on Myrtle Ave, 1995
  • Lassorio, 1995
  • The Singing Tree, 1995
  • 16 Mins., 1996
  • An Exaltation of Termagants, 1999

Eric Van Lustbader Biography – About the Author

Eric Van Lustbader

Born on December 24, 1946, in Greenwich Village, New York City, Eric Van Lustbader grew up with the Carradine (David and Keith) brothers and lived across the famous Lauren Bacall.

He attended New York’s Stuyvesant High School and graduated from Columbia College where he got his degree in sociology, and he also got licenses in elementary and early childhood education. In addition, he also has a second-level Reiki degree.

Before becoming a full-time writer, he had several jobs, some evolving around education in New York City public schools and the music industry, where he worked for Elektra Records and CBS Records.

Furthermore, he was also a journalist for Cash Box magazine, a music-biz weekly, where he started writing concert reviews for them for free before being hired full time.

He was in the music business for 13 years, when upon meeting an old friend of his who was writing books, Eric Van Lustbader decided that he could do that as well.

Eric Van Lustbader published his first book, The Sunset Warrior, in 1975. It was the first book in the Blade series, set in a post-apocalyptic world destroyed by nuclear war.

The series became popular, and the author continued it with four additional books. He then started writing in other genres and wrote several standalone novels, including The Ninja, which became his breakthrough novel.

Reading the Eric Van Lustbader books in order takes us on a journey through the Nicholas Linnear thriller series. While he has written several other books, including many standalone novels as well, this series is probably one of the best-known among lovers of the Japan-inspired thriller genre.

The Ninja, published in 1980, became an international bestseller after its release. The author wrote several sequels and spin-offs, which tied in to the main plot. Over the years, he has written books in various genres, including historical fiction, spy thrillers, and fantasy.

However, one of Eric Van Lustbader’s most popular series is the Jason Bourne series, which he took over from Robert Ludlum after his death. The Bourne series was adapted into a the Bourne film franchise, with Matt Damon starring in the title role. So far, Eric Van Lustbader has written twelve Bourne novels, with his latest book, The Bourne Evolution, being published in 2020.

In addition to his novels, Eric Van Lustbader has also written several screenplays and worked as a consultant for several films. For example, he wrote the screenplay for the 1985 film, Remo Williams: The Adventure Begins, which was based on the book series The Destroyer, co-authored with Richard Sapir. He was also a consultant for the film adaptation of The Bourne Identity.

As an advocate for literacy, Eric Van Lustbader has worked with several literacy organizations, and he has been a board member of the International Thriller Writers. In addition, he also worked with the National Coalition Against Censorship.

Eric Van Lustbader received several awards for his books, including the Ian Fleming Steel Dagger Award for Best Thriller in 2006, for his novel The Testament. In 2013, he was received the Grand Master Award from the Mystery Writers of America.

His books have been translated into over 20 languages and are bestsellers worldwide. Ninja was a New York Times Bestseller for 24 consecutive weeks.

When not writing books, Eric Van Lustbader enjoys listening to music while constantly searching for new musical talents (he is the first to have written about Elton John’s rise to fame in the US). I was excited to hear that he is a level II Reiki master, as I am a level II Reiki practitioner (not yet master level).

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *