Douglas Preston Books In Order

Last Updated on February 7, 2022 Douglas Preston is an American author best known for his collaboration with Lincoln Child in creating the wonderful and unforgettable paranormal thriller series, Pendergast. The books in this series are in fact the first ones I’ve read by this author, however, while waiting for new books in the series, I went out and bought whatever novels each of them has also written separately.

Here are the Douglas Preston books in order for his series and standalone novels, alone and in co-operation with Lincoln Child.

New Douglas Preston Books

Diablo Mesa

Diablo Mesa, (Nora Kelly #3, 2022

In collaboration with Lincoln Child

Pendergast Series

For the Pendergast series click here

Nora Kelly Series

  1. Old Bones (Nora Kelly #1)
  2. The Scorpion’s Tale (Nora Kelly #2)
  3. Diablo Mesa (Nora Kelly #3)

Gideon Crew Series

  1. Gideon’s Sword (Gideon Crew #1), 2011
  2. Gideon’s Corpse (Gideon Crew #2), 2012
  3. The Lost Island (Gideon Crew #3), 2014
  4. Beyond the Ice Limit (Gideon Crew #4), 2016
  5. The Pharaoh Key (Gideon Crew #5), 2018

Standalone Novels With Lincoln Child

  1. Mount Dragon, 1996
  2. Riptide, 1998
  3. Thunderhead, 1999
  4. The Ice Limit, 2000

Solo books by the author

Wyman Ford series

  1. Tyrannosaur Canyon, 2005 (Wyman Ford #1)
  2. Blasphemy, 2008 (Wyman Ford #2)
  3. Impact, 2010 (Wyman Ford #3)
  4. The Kraken Project, 2014 (Wyman Ford #4)

Other Douglas Preston Books

About Douglas Preston

Douglas Preston was born as Douglas Jerome Preston in 1956 in Cambridge, Massachusetts. He grew up in Wellesley, a boring suburb in Cambridge, Massachusetts as a rebellious child. He attended and graduated from  Cambridge School of Weston in Weston, Massachusetts, and Pomona College in Claremont, California.

Douglas PrestonBetween 1978 to 1985 Preston worked at the American Museum of Natural History, which is the place where he first started writing. He worked there as a  writer, editor, and manager of publications.

In 1985 he wrote his first book, Dinosaurs In the Attic: An Excursion into the American Museum of Natural History, which is a non-fiction story about the museum and its history, describing the museum’s early explorers and expeditions.

An interesting sidenote, the editor of Douglas Preston’s first book was none other than Lincoln Child, the very same author who would become Douglas Preston’s longtime writing partner. This book was the main inspiration behind the idea of creating the Pendergast series.

After leaving the museum, in 1986 Preston moved to Mexico where he began his full-time writing career. The author’s most popular work to date is the Pendergast series, which he wrote in collaboration with Lincoln Child.

In addition to the Pendergast series, Douglas Preston has worked on several other books with Lincoln Child, including the Gideon Crew series, including the Beyond the Ice Limit, and several standalone novels.

Of course, he also wrote solo novels. The author’s first such fiction novel, Jennie, was a book about an adopted chimpanzee. The next solo book he wrote was The Codex, an adventure novel involving hunting for treasures. While this book is standalone, it does introduce us to two characters, Tom Broadbent and Sally Colorado, who would feature in the author’s Wyman Ford series’s first novel,  Tyrannosaur Canyon.

In 2000, the author moved to Florence in Italy with his family. While there, he was interested in the Monster of Florence, a serial killer who was never found. His research in the case resulted in him being arrested and interviews the police in relation to the killing. Douglas Preston describes the whole story in his non-fiction book The Monster of Florence, which was published in 2008. The book was so popular that it not only received several awards in the US and Europe but it is also developed into a movie by 20th Century Fox, featuring George Clooney playing Douglas Preston.

While he has written several solo novels (mostly part of the Wyman Ford series), Douglas Preston has also crafted a good number of non-fiction books, many of them centered around the history of the American Southwest.

In 2010, Douglas Preston took part in the first USO tour along with authors like James Rollins, David Morrell, Steve Berry, and Andy Harp. The group visited two medical centers where they gave away their books. Next, they went to Iraq and Kuwait, visiting the combat zones.

In 2011, author Douglas Preston got the degree of Doctor of Letters from Pomona College.

In 2015 Douglas Preston took part in an expedition where he and the team members would become sick with an incurable tropical disease called mucocutaneous leishmaniasis. On the upside, the team discovered an ancient city in a yet unexplored valley in the Mosquitia mountains of Eastern Honduras. The expedition would be chronicled in the author’s solo non-fiction book, The Lost City of the Monkey God, which was eventually published in 2017. The expedition was sponsored, among others, by the National Geographic, and was led by Steve Elkins, a well-known cinematographer, and explorer.

Currently, the author is on the Board of Governor of the Authors Guild and is also a member of the Long Rider’s Guild, as well as a fellow of the Royal Geographical Society.

Some of Preston’s ancestors are Emily Dickinson, sexologist Robert Latou Dickinson, and the infamous murderer and opium addict Amasa Greenough.

Spread the love

5 Responses to “Douglas Preston Books In Order”

Read below or add a comment...

  1. Stef says:

    correction – he lives in NEW Mexico – still part of the USA

  2. Mystery Sequels says:

    @gerald e leslie – Obsidian Chamber. You can see the list here:

  3. gerald e leslie says:

    correction; what comes after Crimson Shore

  4. gerald e leslie says:

    what novel comes after crimson tide?

  5. Jack Simmons says:

    At the age of 85 I finally had the time to seriously read again. My daughter sent me “two graves” for Christmas last
    year (2015). At this point in time (July), I possess 13 of the series and 2 of the 4 Gideons. The remaining 4 from both series are on order.

    Your writing is spell binding. I read one book in a day and a half. Did not eat much on the way. If you ever have had a fan,and I know you two do, count me in.

    How about a list from the both of you of your favorite singles. Jack\

Leave A Comment...