Daniel Cole Books in Order – Complete List

Daniel Cole is the British crime thriller author of the popular Ragdoll series and two additional standalone novels. Life and death are no strangers to this author who worked as a paramedic before publishing his first book.

Here are the Daniel Cole books in order for the William Fawkes & Emily Baxter series, Mimic, and the latest standalone novel, Jackdaw. For the series, The publication order is the same with the reading order.

Latest Daniel Cole Books

Jackdaw, 2023

Fawkes and Baxter Books in Order of Publication

Detective William Fakwes and detective Emily Baxter

  1. Ragdoll, 2017
  2. Hangman, 2018
  3. Endgame, 2019

Standalone Novels in Order of Publication

Daniel Cole Biography – About the Author

Daniel Cole books in order

Daniel Cole was born in Bournemouth in the United Kingdom in 1983 to a schoolteacher as a mother and a mechanic as a father.

Before writing books, Daniel Cole was a paramedic, an RSPCA officer (Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals), and for the RNLI (Royal National Lifeboat Institution). In fact, he’d just started working at the RNLI offices when he got his debut novel, Ragdoll, accepted for publication.

This, however, was not the first book Daniel Cole had ever written. Several manuscripts and rejection letters are in his drawers, a testament to his five years of trying to get his works published, which only propelled him to push harder and get his works released.

And Ragdoll was a success right from the start. Initially, the novel started out as an unproduced television pilot, but then it got a 3-book series, and also a television series which aired in 2021 both in the UK and US.

Daniel Cole’s paramedic training and his vast rescue experience benefitted him a lot when writing his thrillers. In the Daniel Cole books, he adds real-life situations using larger-than-life characters to make the scenes shine. In an interview, the author mentioned that he likes to create movies that you can read.

Currently, Daniel Cole lives in Bournemouth, England, where he is working on his next book.

Daniel Cole Books Adaptations

Ragdoll has been adapted into a television series that aired in the UK on Alibi and in the US on AMC+. In the UK it premiered on December 6, 2021, while in the US on November 11, 2021.

The premise of the series is the hunt for the ragdoll killer with six victims that he has dismembered, and stitched up into one body with a grotesque shape. When the main detective and her team on the case start investigating, the killer mocks and taunts them openly.

The one season has 6 episodes, and stars Thalissa Teixeira as DI Emily Baxter. Other main characters include:

  • Henry Lloyd-Hughes as DS Nathan Rose (Willam-Oliver Layton-Fawkes (nickname Wolf) in the book changed his name to Nathan Rose in the TV show)
  • Lucy Hale as Lake Edmunds
  • Michael Smiley as DS Finlay
  • Ali Cook as DCI Terrence Simmons
  • Natasha Little as Andrea Wyld
  • Kobna Holdbrook-Smith as Joel Shepton
  • Angus Wright as Judge Wingate
  • Amita Dhiri as Deputy Commissioner Vanita
  • Phil Davis as Mayor Turnbull
  • Camilla Beeput as Alyssa
  • Douggie McMeekin as Eric Turner
  • Samantha Spiro as Joy
  • Sam Troughton as Thomas Massey / “The Ragdoll Killer”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *