Ruth Galloway Series In Order

The Ruth Galloway series by Elly Griffiths is a relatively new addition to the archaeological mysteries with the first book called The Crossing Places published in 2009.

Currently with 7 books in the series (with the latest The Ghost Fields), Elly Griffiths started the book series inspired by her husband who switched from a city job to become an archaeologist.

The Ghost Fields by Elly Griffiths

Ruth is a forensic anthropologist who is living in her cottage near Norfolk with her two cats – when she is not digging up graves and bones linked to archaeology, that is.

Below are the books in order for the Ruth Galloway series as they were written (as well as in chronological order). Btw, book 4.5 Ruth’s First Christmas Tree is a free Kindle download at Amazon.

Ruth Galloway Books In Publication Order

1 – The Crossing Places (Ruth Galloway #1) 2009, book review

2 – The Janus Stone (Ruth Galloway #2), 2010

3 – The House at Sea’s End (Ruth Galloway #3), 2010

4 – A Room Full of Bones (Ruth Galloway #4, 2011

4.5 – Ruth’s First Christmas Tree (Ruth Galloway #4.5, 2012

5 – Dying Fall (Ruth Galloway #5), 2012

6 – The Outcast Dead (Ruth Galloway #6), 2014

7 – The Ghost Fields (Ruth Galloway #7), 2015

Should we read the Ruth Galloway books in order?

I read the book series in order and I’m glad I did. First of all I love archaeological mysteries, and when forensic anthropology is also involved, well, count me in! I got hooked right away.

The stories in each book are stand alone, however the interaction between the main characters (namely Ruth and Detective Chief Inspector Harry Nelson. They have a rather complicated relationship which we get to entangle thread by thread through each of the novels.

The book series is a very light mystery, nothing scary or gross going on there (despite the main character being a forensic anthropologist). It is not really your typical murder mystery either, however it does pull you in.

Personally I recommend that you read the books in order. Afteral they’re only 6 books so far, so it’s not difficult to catch up to the last one, especially since all the books in the series are available for the Kindle.

Share on FacebookShare on Google+Pin on PinterestTweet about this on TwitterShare on StumbleUpon

29 Responses to “Ruth Galloway Series In Order”

Read below or add a comment...

  1. Grumpy says:

    I’m finishing the first book and loved it. Can’t wait to read more about lovable Ruth. It’s pleasantly hilarious how Ruth is described as overweight, not-too-exciting as a character, middle-aged and lives with two cats. However, she’s overwhelmed with admirers, e.g., Peter, Nelson, etc…Gosh, I wish I could be that overwhelmed by love. I love Ruth. Thanks Ms. Griffiths for creating such a wonderful character.

  2. Beryl says:

    And now “the Outcast Dead” 2014. Can’t wait for the next.

  3. Jonquil Shaw says:

    I read my first Elly Griffiths book with members of the Leigh Library Crime Reading Group. Since then I have read the other books in the series (best read in order). Have now got the latest book and can’t wait for more. The consensus of the whole group is brilliant writing.

    • read head says:

      Is that Leigh ,Lancs, I come from Atherton Lancs and have just got the first book but haven’t read it yet .

  4. Janice says:

    I love Ruth because she is so like me overweight loves the wrong kind of food cat lover solitary until her daughter popped up but now a loving mum I look forward to many more books from ellygriffiths please Nelsons s OK too

  5. Elly Griffiths is one of the best English crime writers of our time. Gripping plots, not too ghoulish, has warmth and tenderness, but with gutsee interest. Love her stories of the Norfolk sea and sand dunes. If you know Norfolk and it’s coast, or you don’t, go check it out.
    Many thanks for a few hours of getting lost in your books, keep writing Elly we love you.

    Carole XX

  6. Sara says:

    have been trying to find ‘The tower of the Raven King’ as previewed at the end of Room full of Bones.
    Can’t find any references to it. Anyone help?

    • Kathy says:

      So have I and no luck. Glad I’m not the only one! If the Ghost fields is due out in April what has happened to “The Tower…”?

    • paatsilee says:

      It was retitled dying fall.

    • The Tomb of the Raven King was published as Dying Fall. The publishers didn’t like my title – thought it was too historical/fantasy. Hope you enjoy the book. Elly

      • Jacqueline Young says:

        Thank you for that – My Husband bought me The Ghost fields and from then on I read backwards I have just finished A Room Full of Bones and got nothing done in the housework line as just couldn’t put it down, just about to start Dying Fall and was all confused with the titles etc. So glad that has been explained. Can’t wait to get onto the other series you have written, you are a fabulous writer (on a par with Linwood Barclay, although your language use is much cleaner). Thank you and keep writing.

      • What a shame! I much prefer your original title, “The Tomb of the Raven King”. Having read all of your books with the exception of The Ghost Fields I would just like to say “thank you”, particularly for “A Room Full of Bones” which helped me through a difficult personal time as it was so (darkly) funny. I love the vein of humour that runs through all of Ruths’ adventures. And being a total cat lover she has my vote. In agreement with other comments, it is refreshing to have a heroine who is by no means perfect, not a size 8, not beautiful at all times no matter what, quick to irritate, quirky, solitary, stubborn, although she has no shortage of admirers so must be doing something right! My only regret is that I didn’t read the books in order.

  7. Lynda Bone says:

    I agree about reading these books in order. It helps you to follow the characters as their relationships change.
    I can read a book in one sitting ( they are so good ) but I ration myself.
    I am halfway through dying fall so that means just 1 book left.

  8. Brenda says:

    When is next book about Ruth coming out?

  9. Jill says:

    I can no longer see to read well but having discovered Elly Griffith’s Ruth Galloway series in audio format I am absolutely thrilled and working my way through them!

  10. dawn khan says:

    I have listened to all six of Elly Griffiths books on Audible. Brilliant. Now im going to listen again as they have spoilled me for anything else. Missing Ruth and the gang.

  11. Janis Rothermel says:

    Definitely read in order. I love this series-the recurring characters, locales, new characters, history snd all else.

  12. paatsilee says:

    I love the way Elly writes and there is no bad language

  13. robert westwood says:

    suggest fans of elly read zig zag girl 50,s noir in brighton good read

  14. suggest read zig zag girl 50<noir in brighton good read

  15. Sue Wells says:

    Have just finished ‘The Ghostfields’ very good. Do we know when Ellue is producing the next Ruth Galloway story please?

  16. Renee says:

    I’ve read all the Ruth Galloway books and I want to know when the next one is coming out. They are interesting books Really like all of the characters!

  17. Sally says:

    Thank you for outlining the books in order. I tried to figure this out from the author’s website, but it was confusing.


  1. […] Ruth Galloway Series In Order […]

  2. […] * Elly Griffiths with Dying Fall, the 5th book in the Ruth Galloway mystery series – Quercus […]

Leave A Comment...